1 / 5

Experience life on my beautiful farm and help me with the animals in Villanueva de San Juan, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 42 times
  • Last activity: 3 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Why i live here is because I was living in Sudan and having a tough time, i needed a safe place to bring up my children. I found it here although the farm was a ruin. It is a peaceful, beautiful little place surrounded by trees. Throughout my time here I have taught English in several of the villages and continue to do so but very little now. I am also starting to write children's books. My son and my daughter's partner have planted 300 pistacho trees on some of the land, they live in the village but are away building during the week.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The village is largely traditional and the people have a strong accent but once you get used to it it is a great place, there are about 1000 residents. It is not touristy, being mainly a farming community, the land is hilly and unsuitable for large farms so there are many older small farmers and a good group of younger families too. There are many interesting places to visit nearby, Ronda, Setenil de las Bodegas, Osuna and the lakes at Guadalhorce plus the famous Camino del Rey. Travellers will benefit from a very friendly community, where they can practise their Spanish, play sports, attend the village festivals and go swimming in the local beautiful pool (July and August only). They will learn about the day to day management of a small farm, have contact with over-friendly sheep and horses (!) and become aware of the importance of water in such a dry part of the world.

  • Help


    I live on a small farm in Sevilla province, Andalucia. I am retired but look after my two ageing horses, four sheep, chickens , dogs and cats. The farm is 3 kms from the nearest village, I have lived here for over 30 years and love it. I am looking for someone reliable to help me around the farm, both when I am here and occasionally when I go away. This includes animal care and watering the garden when necessary and possibly some maintenance. There is a self-contained cottage attached to the main farmhouse. A couple or a single person would be welcome. There is good internet, electricity and water (from a well). Two of my children live in the village but have their own families and jobs and cannot be here all the time. I have had volunteers from time to time and it has usually been a pleasant experience on both sides.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Self-contained, two bedroom cottage which was the original farmhouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live quite simply myself and am largely vegetarian. Food is neither cheap nor expensive as this is definitely not a touristy area. There are 2 or 3 small supermarkets in the village and larger supermarkets in Osuna or Moron de la Frontera. Going out in the village can cost you under 20 euros for drinks and tapas and there are many bars for such a small village (town).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have good internet connection available in the main house, which workawayers are welcome to use. Workawayers will be staying in La Casita, the self-contained cottage, attached to the main house, where the internet does reach but isn´t as reliable.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a large open space in front of the farm where Workawayers can park. However, it is worth bearing in mind that the track up to the farm is very steep in parts, so this might be tricky for very large vans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I can only accept dogs that are well trained and used to being with other animals, eg sheep and chickens and do not mind other dogs.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Animal care daily, morning and evening. Approximately 3 hours a day

Host ref number: 734869766493

Feedback (1)