Language exchange, grape and olive harvesting at our hobby farm in Rieti, Italy

Country

Italy

new host  

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We own a small olive and vineyard in Italy about 45 kms north east of Rome. We bought the property 6 years ago and have since renovated it along with the olive groves, approximately 150 trees, and the vineyard, approximately 600 plus vines, and 2 vegetables gardens along with 30 fruit and nut trees. The farm is all organic and now in a manageable state. Along with the two of us we have two beautiful patterdale dogs that enjoy watching and helping with the work on the farm. Where we are locate their is a small village and then with in 5 kms a larger town with a variety of shops, cafes, bars, and restaurants along with a variety of activities throughout the year. The train also runs from this town to Rome every day and in 50 to 70 minutes you can be in East through to West Rome. Rome speaks for itself! Where we are in the country there is a great deal of history and country to see and explore. A few years back we had the opportunity to visit and walk around a 2000 year old Rome villa. Not many people can say that they had the privilege to walk on 2000 year old mosaic floors!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to learn Italian as my wife provides English lessons to the local community and she can develop your Italian. You will have an opportunity to better understand how wine and olive oil is made along with the process of developing very good wines and olive oil.
    As we are in central Italy there is the opportunity to see Rome, Pompeii, Florence, Naples and more within a few hours of travelling by train or car. The local area is rich in Etruscan and Roman history. Need I say more....

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for workawayers to assist with our annual vineyard and olive grove preparation in 2022. In January we start the process of rejuvenating the vineyard followed by the bottling of the 2021 Vendemmia harvest of the vineyard, then in late February through to April we start the process of preparing the olive groves for 2022. In mid March we start to plant our vegetable gardens, orti, and enjoy the results May. In April, hopefully with no frost in 2022, we start to work on the vineyard as the vines come to bud and blossom.grapes and fruit for our own consumption, along with the annual pruning and general help on our farm.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are interested in learning Italian and providing English in exchange.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying with us in the house but have your own side of the upper part of the house, it use to be be two houses, now pulled together. One bedroom is a large double bed room, whilst the other is also a double bedroom but much smaller but very comfortable, with internet and a bathroom across the landing from the rooms. The rooms have amazing views over the valley below to the hills across from us to Mount Sorrate. We have our main meal of the day normally at lunch and a light dinner in the evening all of which is included.
    In the warmer months there is use of the pool and the grounds.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Regional Trains
    1.5 hours from the airports in Rome
    2.5 hours by train to Florence/Naples
    Local bus service

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 733793553278