Help us to restore an ancient property in the mountains of Mallorca, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 96 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/07/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Attention, nature lovers!

    We are an international family which lives our every-day lives spread around Europe. The place where we all get together is a big ancient property in the mountains of Mallorca, Spain. The house, built in 1729, and the surrounding olive trees have been abandoned for years, so there is a lot of work to do.

    If you are looking for a different experience of Mallorca, this is the place for you. The property is in the mountains 4 kilometers uphill from the closest village. Mallorca is a toursity place and coming to stay with us will show you the peaceful, wild, traditional side of the island without the crowds. If you enjoy getting in touch with nature and love working outside, then believe me - you will love it: Spanish sun by day, clearly visible stars by night; ancient olive trees, fantastic views of the mountains and the smell of mediterranean plants. There is also a pool to cool down in the heat ...

    I am Maruša, originally from Slovenia, one of the younger additions to the family (24 years old). I have been a workawayer myself and I recognized the potential of fellow workawayers in our mission. I will be the one to coordinate the volunteers since I know from my own experience what it feels like to be a workawayer. That is why we are first looking for people who can come in the first half of June when I will surely be there. If you would like to come some other time, please contact me anyways with your availability and we will talk about possibilities.

    IMPORTANT: You (we) can do a day trip to one of the many beaches on your free day, but do not expect to be close to the sea. On working days, you will be spending your free time mostly on the property - there are a lot of places to explore, good opportunities for hiking, meditation, yoga, reading ... You can also take a ride to civilization with us when we drive down.

    RIGHT NOW, WE ARE ONLY LOOKING FOR PEOPLE FOR THE FIRST TWO WEEKS OF JUNE.
    Thank you for understanding!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come join us and get a full multi-culti experience! I am a Slovenian in my mid-twenties and I met my boyfriend while we were both taking part in an Eramsus exchange in Germany. We now live together in Barcelona. I always enjoy a good "culture talk" about similarities and differences between different regions, nations, continents.
    In addition, you will be able to experience a truly historic property on Mallorca, the island my boyfriend and his brothers grew up on. The rest of the family lives in Germany or on the island and some of them might also join us - they are German, Mallorcian and Chinese. We are looking forward to welcoming you in this fun mix!

  • Help

    Help

    Workawayers will be asked to help with the renovation projects in progress according to their skills and interests. In addition, there is wood to be collected and stored, olive-trees terasses to be cleaned and a garden around the house to ba taken care of. Some painting work is also required.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️ We will update and specify the list of tasks according to the progress we make.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    SLEEPING: You will be staying either in one of the bedrooms in the house or in a tent (provided, including an air-matress, pillow and a blanket) outside, depending on the number of people staying and your wishes. The bedrooms are very basic and mostly improvised, however, there are beds, pillows, blankets, sheets and electricity.

    BATHROOMS: There are three bathrooms, all of them now with functioning running water toilets and one with a warm shower. There is a washing machine you can use. Hopefully, there will be more water running through the pipes in the house soon.

    FOOD: A fridge makes sure the drinks are cold and there are some basic cooking amneties, including a grill that we normally use to make the main meal of the day. We normally have two to three meals a day, the main one being dinner in the evening (mostly at Spanish time, so not before 8 pm). There is normally also a light lunch. In case you get hungry outside of meal times, there are snacks in the kitchen and you can help yourself. Most of the family is meat-eating but there is always a lot of diverse vegetables (I mostly do not eat meat and I am never bored). A lot of items on our food list also qualify as vegan. Depending on the daily tasks, we might ask you to help with food preparation and cleaning up after meals, which will be recognized as working time as well.

    OTHER: There is a pool in the garden where you can cool down. There is NO INTERNET in the house and the mobile reception is quite patchy. However, there are "hotspots" around the garden where the reception is good. It is a great place for people who want to have a bit of a break from social media.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The property is a great place to just relax, enjoy the nature and take a break from the rest of the world. It is perfect for your yoga and/or meditation practice, reading, exploring, hiking and star gazing. The mountains of Sierra de Tramuntana, including the property, are a UNESCO protected area. On your free days, you can explore the island with its sandy and rocky beaches, pretty towns and good hiking opportunities. We will try to help you get where you want to go and if you want, we can also do something together! The nearest bigger town is Inca, from where you can get around the island by bus or train. We will pick you up there or at the airport upon your arrival.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The small house
The yard in front of the big house
The view from the road
Olive trees and the big house in the background
The property is perfect for exploring and enjoying beautiful mountain views
A part of the garden next to the house
The view from the pool area
In winter we have mostly been cleaning the garden
Sunsets can be absolutely stunning


Host ref number: 733384823865