Learn about Sami culture in Tennevoll, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Sami family with a lot of sledge dogs, and two children. We use to take care of our dogs, our family and the nature, in the old Sámi way. Thats mean combine a modern life with a life in the nature.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about Sami cultures and tradition. How the Sami people are living today, and learn about Sami shamanism, if you like. The Sami people is the last European “Indians” Our culture and tradition is strong and colourful. We are connected to the nature, even if we are living in houses, like other Norwegian people.
    You will also learn about dog sledding, and how to take care of the dogs.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help to take care of our children, which are 6 and 8 years. We also need help with training dogs. Sometime we use to do Sami shamanistic ceremonies, wich you can participate.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Sami: Intermediate
    Russian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    To learn a language is the same as to learn about other cultures.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in our house, in your own room. We eat dinner together, but you can feel free to eat and drink whenever you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you have driving licence, you can take the car and look around by your self. Go to nearest city or other nature places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Some hours 5 days at week


Host ref number: 728287938167