Explore nature, exchange languages and help me in and around my country house in Rhône-Alpes, France

  • France
  • Favourited 76 times
  • Last activity: 23/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I spend part of my time with my two cats in a country house in the Ardèche department in France. The house is a former farmhouse with a good standard of living and is located on a large plot of land in a very rural environment.
    I have traveled a lot and have always appreciated being integrated into local life in some way. Now I have the opportunity to pass this on and to host guests myself.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will find a lot of peace and tranquility here, you can enjoy the diversity of nature and I can show you the area while hiking. Visits to the village market or the next town at the Rhone river bring you closer to the French way of life.
    You can also have a good conversation with me in German, English or even French - although my French has some potential for improvement.

  • Help

    Help

    The range of possible work is wide and you can choose according to your skills. This can be anything from working in the house and garden, to helping with the fence, mowing meadows, clearing paths or rebuilding dry stone walls.

    These are the possible tasks:
    - Taming the cats, cooking with me, joining me on day trips and hikes
    - Helping in the household (cooking, cleaning, laundry, etc.)
    - Painting walls (cleaning, preparing, painting)
    - Staining windows and shutters (cleaning, sanding, staining)
    - Restoring the fence (remove scrub, set new poles, fix the wire fence)
    - Repairing the gravel driveway
    - Gardening (mow, weed, trim, tidy up)
    - Mowing meadows (with the mowing machine)
    - Clearing various areas (with a brushcutter)
    - Repairing dry stone walls

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    My French has some potential for improvement and in exchange I could offer you conversation in German or English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a newly renovated guest room with new mattresses and bedding and a shared bathroom. The whole house including the kitchen can be used and you can cook with me or help yourself in the kitchen. There is internet and good mobile phone and 4G reception.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is very rural and hilly. It's a 20-minute walk to the next village and a 15-minute drive to the nearest little grocery store. The next town in the Rhône valley has a train station and can be reached in 25 minutes by car. There is also a bus stop in 5 km distance with 4 connections per day to the town and its train station.
    You can hike or bike in pure nature and swim in the nearby river (15 minutes walk downhill). All in all, lots of nature and tranquility.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Lots of space, very quiet, few distractions, very good and fast 4G connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lots of space, very quiet, water and electricity available.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 727598844557

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)