Come give a helping hand and explore historic Carcassonne, South of France

  • Favourited 229 times
  • Last activity: 19 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, here’s a little about me.
    Love to travel and recently returned from 2months in Central America and Caribbean. Nature. Ecology, recycling, eating and living responsibly is important to me.
    I am English but have lived in France for 30 years. I have had various careers from working in the theatre, teaching outdoor pursuits, hostessing on sailing boats and more recently welcoming tourists when they rented the gites I used to have.
    I am now a craniosacral therapist.
    I want to travel more so would like to rent out my house. I'd love your help moving me towards this goal so let me know your strengths and interests. I have a garage roof which wasn’t finished so I’d welcome a skilled person who could do this.
    I could do with morale support, sorting out my stuff ...i need to go through accumulated belongings and de clutter chuck, sell, organise to simplify my life. So someone with patience and grounding would be ideal for this task.
    Helping me with computer when I become stuck on trying to navigate website. Any help with IT knowledge is welcome and i think anyone younger than me would be able to help here.
    I enjoy cooking but If someone wants to take the initiative and share that would be great. Mucking in with washing up and cleaning is something I appreciate.
    I cook healthy on whole and can cook vegetarian vegan but I do eat meat. .
    There is a bike you can use so you can get into town easily or go for a spin along the canal du midi.
    I can accommodate a couple if you don’t mind doing different jobs if necessary.
    That’s all for now folks. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workaways will enjoy visiting the iconic fortified city of Carcassonne and also the 'new' town with its market, cafes and shops. The Canal du midi is close to the house and a bike is at your disposition. Vineyards are nearby and there is fabulous countryside. I love taking off to the beach and try and get there at least once a fortnight and you are welcome to come with me. You can profit on a days off to go to Narbonne, Montpellier and Toulouse all accessible by train and the station is a 20 minute walk from the house. I like to walk and get into nature so would drive out occasionally to walk and you are welcome to join. I can take you to lagrasse where i used to live, there are great walks and history and art shops. I like to do Qi Gong and am not very disciplined so if you want to join me for this and also daily meditation this would be motivation for me to do it more regularly.
    I love travelling and have back packed a lot in the past and enjoy meeting new people. Hopefully we will enjoy each other’s company. I have sailed the Atlantic, worked on a cattle station in Australia , worked in the theatre, in outdoor pursuits for underprivileged kids, gave guided tours of battlefield of agincourt.
    I have one newish bicycle you can use to explore.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now I’d love someone who Oule like to spring clean my house.
    Also Id to like to declutter my house so a down to earth patient person who would like to give me moral support would be huge.
    sharing cooking or washing up if I cook. Someone with an easy smile and initiative

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private room with a confortable sofa bed and a piano.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bike in local countryside or along canal du midi. Visit Lac de la Cavayere (a bus or bike ride away) where there is water skiing, water park, volley ball, aquabranch and swimming. Vineyards to walk through
    The market is vibrant and there are lots of cafes, restaurants and shops.
    There are Cathar castles to visit if you have a car, ( if i have time i am happy to take you there or to the beach). The cities of Narbonne,Montpellier and Toulouse are accessible by train ride and the station is a 20 minute walk from the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a fast connection wifi and you would have your own room. The bed is a sofa bed so if you want to fold it away in day time it ncould become your study too if you needed privacy.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is on street parking outside the house. It is a quiet tree lined road.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I would consider well behaved dogs I miss my dog

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a days, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 721585349177

Feedback (7)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)