Come help out on our farm using organic practices in Northern New York state, USA.

Country

United States

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/06/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1216

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 33 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In 2017, my wife and I moved from NYC, and started a small farm in the Tug Hill Region of Northern New York. The farm is nestled on 5 acres of land near Beartown State Forest, the Black River, Beaver River, and many other outdoor attractions. Here, we employ a bio-intensive growing technique, using organic practices, ensuring that we provide locally grown food that is non-chemical & non-GMO. For the 2018 season, we are rolling out a CSA, which we hope will increase local interest in organic produce. My entire adult life, I have have wanted to live a self-sustainable lifestyle that pays homage to nature, self-exploration, and cerebral evolution. My wife, Alice, is an artist. I enjoy being outdoors. Together we are creating our world to be in symbiosis with the greater good of humanity.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope that traveller exposure to small scale farming, can leave a long term impression. The methods that we use can be implemented across the globe. The traveller will have guidance from us, on the techniques we have adopted, and things that we have tweaked to function better in our system.

  • Help

    Help

    We will be looking for gardening/farming help during the height of the season. Duties will include weeding, pruning, mulching, irrigating, & harvesting. For help with gardening, it should be expected to assist for 3-5 hours per day. We may also seek help with small infrastructure building, such as small cabins, earthbag structures, a root cellar, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 12x24' cabin on the property. Everything is 100% off-the-grid. There is a propane oven, solar electricity (runs a refrigerator, charges devices, generally meets all electric needs), compost toilet, and a hand-pump well. Depending on logistics, the cabin can be occupied, or a tent can be pitched. I am hoping to have anot her structure erected for lodging next spring. If the lodging on the farm is not adequate, or the off-the-grid life is getting too daunting, we have a house 40 minutes away that has all regular accomofations.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The expectation for being a host is to get some assistance on our farm, while meeting new and interesting people! The 2018 season will only be our second year of production, so if there are more practiced organic farmers/gardeners out there, it would be great to gain whatever insight can be offered.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 721291923149