Come and help us to look after our garden and house in Bovey Tracey, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 91 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    366

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Andy and I live with my wife and two kids aged 7 and 9 in Devon. Our house was built in 1600 and is situated on the edge of the stunning Dartmoor National Park. We have 4 guinea pigs, 4 chickens and a dog, plus a 3 acre garden with lawns, an orchard and fruit and vegetable plots. My wife and I both work from home. We home-school our children and run home-school social groups from home too.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With two crazy kids things are never dull. A core part of our approach is we try to practise non-violence in our parenting. Volunteers will learn about this and be introduced to some of Devon's alternative side. Volunteers will also learn about gardening as guided by our gardener who comes every month for a few days.

  • Help

    Help

    We'd love someone to:
    1) look after the garden, mowing, weeding, planting and picking
    2) help tidy the house, cook and clean a bit

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room with a separate, shared, shower and toilet in our thatched house. We don't have a tv but we watch netflix etc on tablets. We tend to eat a vegetarian diet with some seafood. Kids eat separately in the evening. The volunteer will be free to do their own thing for food or eat with us. We're very flexible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local village is a mile away, from there you can get a bus to Newton Abbot and its mainline railway to Exeter, Plymouth and London. Devon's beaches and Dartmoor are fantastic if you enjoy walking/being outdoors. Totnes is a transition town with a strong alternative scene. Exeter is a substantial regional City with a stunning cathedral and old University.

    We practise non-violence as much as possible. This means that the kids are used to being met with compassion and understanding, especially when they are upset and, for example, don't want to do something. We treat them like little grown ups (although they don't always act like that!) SO compassion first, rather than 'do as your told' is our approach. It's important that this is ok for travellers too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 719578198385