1 / 4

I live in a beautiful small town in southern BC- Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 20 times
  • Last activity: 22 Jul 2022




  • Description


    I live in a beautiful small town in southern BC, about 45 minutes North of Kamloops. Barriere is close to many lakes, waterfalls, parks, hiking trails, snowmobiling and ski areas. If you love the outdoors, this is the town to come to!
    My home is a modest two-bedroom, situated on 3 fenced acres on the edge of town. The quiet, private, wooded property is across from the river and an easy walk to town.
    I am a Registered Nurse and work on the pediatric ward at the hospital in Kamloops. I am also working on finishing writing my first book!!
    I enjoy all sorts of outdoor activities including camping, fishing, snowmobiling, hunting or just going for a drive on the backroads. My 4 very large Great Pyrenees dogs are my family here and they have free run of the property.
    I love to meet new people and would be very excited to be your host while you explore the North Thompson area.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Exploring the beautiful North Thompson area lakes, trails and limitless outdoor areas will be an enriching experience on its own, all year round.
    Depending on your skillset, there are many opportunities to grow your resume/portfolio.
    You can learn about maintaining a small acreage, house and yard maintenance, gardening and care of large-breed dogs.

  • Help


    I would like some help keeping my house tidy and feeding my dogs when I am away for my days off.
    I could use some help watering my garden and flowers and keeping the grass mowed and yard tidy.
    I could really use the assistance of a graphic designer to design the cover of my upcoming book. I could also utilize the skills of an editor to review it for me.
    I am also looking for an illustrator for a children's storybook that I have written and plan to publish later this year.
    I could find many projects for a handyman/woman around the property as there is an endless to-do list!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Private spare room in my two bedroom home. Has an adjustable, massaging double bed and desk. Full access to the rest of the home, plus the workshop if that is something you'd be interested in. Lots of parking. Full high-speed Internet access. Satellite TV with PVR. A serene park-like setting across from the river and near to many lakes and other outdoor activities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 hours a day, 7 days a week

Host ref number: 717413794291