Interested in a cultural exchange and helping us in a beautiful part of France. Pays d'Auge



Favourited 215 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    Lieven and Agnes, a Belgian-Dutch couple (age 67 and 57) like to be hostfamily for one or two young people, long and short stay possible. We believe it is enriching to receive people for the cultural exchange.

    We speak Dutch, French, English, German and Spanish. We have three pets: a Golden retriever and 2 cats

    We live on a 17th century authentic farm in the peaceful Normandy collines countryside where we run a holiday gîte

    The location and region (pays d'Auge) are not so far from the seaside. The rich history of Normandy is always nearby.

    By train (station Lisieux) it takes you 20 ' to go to the seaside and one hour and a half to go to Paris.

    We are cultureminded : Agnes is a classical singer and Lieven is a sculptor-painter. Of course we would like you could go with us to concerts, musea, expositions, cultural events ....,

    We don't smoke and don't eat meat, fish occasionally.

    We are looking for young people to help us with a variety of tasks in the houses and the garden : 5 hours a day from monday to Friday (decorating, painting, pruning, weeding, house/animalsitting while we take a break away etc….)

    In return of your welcome help we offer you accomodation in a separate studio with private bedroom, toilet and shower and we invite you to share our meals. There is WIFI available.

    We ask for a minimumof 4 weeks and prefer longer stays.

    If we have a Spanish native speaker as guest we would like very much to practice Spanish conversation.
    Por supuesto todo de una manera divertida y con humor :)

    Hoping to meet you soon !
    Agnes & Lieven

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our workawayers becomes members of our family and participate to our social and cultural life

  • Help


    decorating, painting, pruning, weeding, refresh furniture, house/animal sitting, spanish conversation, construction and maintenance of vegetable garden (permaculture).....

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Duth, French, English, German, Spanish

  • Accommodation


    independant smoke-free studio with all accomodation : sitting corner, double bed, shower, toilet, kitchinette and eating corner

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will be living in a individual studio with WIFI in a rural environment, beautiful and hilly countryside. ideal for hiking, jogging, mountain bike
    The region has a rich history and architecture.
    There are a lot of interesting places to visit in Normandy and we hope you will be keen to see with us the Mont St Michel, the castle of William the conqueror, Honfleur, the local Normandy markets, D-Day beaches, the superb beach, cultural events etc
    By train seaside is at 20 ' and Paris at 1,40 '

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Agnes & Lieven are looking forward to welcome you !
christmas decoration
Agnes & Lieven in traditional outfit of Normandy
sea-walk towards the Mont-Saint-Michel
house Lieven & Agnes
entrance personal studio homeawayer
general vieuw

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 717259623311