Help with some household tasks near Mullumbimby, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a single father with two children, a 12 year old girl and a 10 year old boy. I teach high school history. We live in a light filled home that I built myself on a small property in a village in the hills with a nice house and garden. There's a creek out the back with many different creatures and heaps of birds. Life is quiet, peaceful and laid-back but there's still plenty of culture around for a rural area, as we're a ten minute drive west of Mullumbimby and 20 minute drive to Byron Bay. The closest beautiful beach is at Brunswick Heads. I've got two small spaces on the property that I rent out, a cabin and a studio, to other friendly people. We've got solar panels, rainwater tanks, fruit trees, a tree house and a veggie garden.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a very alternative area, unlike any other in Australia. The ancient volcanic caldera, the green hills, the slow rivers and creeks, the quaint towns, the lively markets, the lush rain forest, the eccentric people, the artists and musicians, the beautiful beaches and the lifestyle are all unlike any where else in the world. Travellers will certainly get to practice their English, and would learn a lot about gardening, our natural environment and the alternate ways of living in this area.

  • Help

    Help

    As a single father with two children, and a job, and property with a garden and trees, and tenants to look after, there is is often just too much work for one person, so I need someone to help me in the home with the cooking, washing and cleaning. I'm looking for someone who knows how to cook, and can help keep things clean and tidy. Just need 3-4 hours a day, up to 5 days a week. Most of the help is with cooking dinner, occasional lunch and breakfast, and washing up when the kids with me.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers have their own sunny, light filled room with a queen bed, and an ensuite with their own private new shower, toilet and sink, as well as their own private, sunny balcony overlooking the garden and the village. Kitchen and living room are shared. I will pay for the food since you will help prepare it. We've got Wi-Fi here, and good phone reception if you are with the right provider. Since there are a lot of kids around the village, and there's little to do at night except listen to the silence, we all tend to go to sleep early and get up early with the birds.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a little shop with a cafe in our village. The town of Mullumbimby is only a 10 minutes drive away. The beach and river at Brunswick Heads is a 15 minute drive, and Byron Bay is 20 minutes away. There are water holes and hikes in the surrounding Mt Jerusalem National Park. Having your own vehicle is big bonus, as there is very little public transport, although hitchhiking is quite common and easy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

mountain views from home
creek
my two kids
kitchen
living room
kitchen and front deck
workaway ensuite
workaway bedroom
front deck passionfruit
Home
front deck hammock
living room kitchen

Host ref number: 716871561834