Learn sustainability, environmental responsibility and become an ethical carnivore at our family farm near Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Country

Canada

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/02/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family run farm, consisting of pigs, laying and meat chickens, vegetable garden, hoop house, 400 blueberry plants, cats and three young children. There is a meadow for hay and some woodland. We would like help with farming activities primarily harvesting and livestock chores. We also would welcome help with building projects - another chicken tractor!
    We love to be busy and active, and we also really enjoy the fruits of our labour :)
    My husband is a roundwood timber framer (who loves to talk about trees!) trained in the UK, And I am a farming stay at home mum.
    We are an open, happy and relaxed family, with a healthy love of hard work :)
    Much of what we eat is grown here, is delicious and unprocessed; we are always striving to grow more, while balancing the demands of a growing family. We love food so are always looking for new and tasty ways to prepare it! We aim to eat a varied and tasty diet - vegetarians are most welcome, but with the recognition please that we are a meat producing farm and believe in what we do. There is always a delicious abundance of vegetables! We are a gluten free family, but beyond that we are not able to cater to special diets. Thanks for your understanding and respect:)
    We are excited for the coming season, and look forward to meeting new people

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    No smokers please.
    We would welcome a fit and willing person. If you have farming and building skills already that's great, but not necessary - a great attitude and a passion for life is arguably more important! During the growing season we often get an early start to the day (often with a swim first), and work in the late afternoon/evening. Flexibility and the ability to work alone is appreciated.
    We are looking forward to meeting you!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two options for accommodation: a tent you provide yourself, or a screened porch attached to the top barn.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 10 minutes by car from the nearest town (a couple of hours walk, 35 minutes by bicycle), which is small but very active. It has an independent film theatre, cafes, library, university, community centres and churches, and a number of small wineries nestled in the valley.
    There are many local beaches, hiking options, and a swimming lake very close to our farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 715789857896