Help with farming, restoration and architecture projects at a heritage farm in Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 88 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 33 year old architect who has recently moved back to our old family farm. We got a beautiful place here, with historical buildings and garden, fields, pastures and forest, along Norways largest lake Mjøsa, close to Oslo. I love to share it.

    I continue to develope the farm in a positive, social and sustainable direction, with care for both the heritage and the natural envirmonment.

    Regarding climate change, biodiversity and land use, the farm is especially interesting. Here you live with the seasons, from our dry snowy winter to the warm and fertile summer, to everything in between. The seasons shape and give rythm to life and work.

    I want workawayers to experience some of these changes and therefor invite people to apply for all of, or parts of, one of three periodes:

    August-October, summer to autumn:
    In this periode we bring the sheep down from the mountain communal summer pasture and start strategic rotational grazing on the different pastures on the farm. Fences must be in order. We harvest from the garden and prepare the farm and the food storage for the winter to come. In August it is still warm and nice to take a swim in the large lake.

    January-March, winter to spring:
    The cold crisp winter covers the farm in deep snow. The winter cleanses and resets everything. Working outside in the relative short days, with their colorful sunsets at 4 is an unique experience. We heat ourself with wood stoves and the making of firewood for next winter. The sheep and pigs must be cared for every day. Our production of high quality birch timber demands some nice forest work in this dormant season. In March 2020 we plan a larger pond restoration project focusing on habitat for the endangered warty newt.

    April-June, sping to summer:
    The lambing is an intense, energizing and beautiful time. You come close to life and death. In the end of May the sheep finally and playfully get new, fresh grass. We prepare the fields and the garden for the new season and bring the sheep to the mountain pasture for the summer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Possibility to experience and help a historical norwegian farm, developing sustainable agriculture, with care for heritage and nature. Learn about farming, craft, architecture and land use, and experience the joy of physical farm work. As hosts we will do our best to create a learning environment and provide work so you will both be challenged and get tasks that you can manage and take real responsibility for. On some special days we plan workshops focusing more directly on the sharing of knowledge. I would also like to facilitate if you got your own project (or an idea) that you need time and space to work on, and will benefit the farm or community in some way. Please specify if you want this.

    The farm is a nice place to have sparetime, with diverse nature, hiking trails and a pier by the lake. We got a canoe, bikes and fishing equipment free to use.

  • Help

    Help

    Type of work and experience vary throughout the season: caring for the sheep, lambing, making firewood, fencing, gardening, general maintenance, food conservation, and depending on your skills and interests: building and restoration projects, nature/biodiversity restoration, craft and design. If you got any special interest or skills please let us know. Everyone are expected to contribute in the farmwork, but let me know if you are interested in my architecture practice as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and norwegian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the season and number of people you will get your own guest room or your own little cabin. Bathroom, kitchen and living room will be shared with 1-3 other volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Easy to get here by train from Oslo, Trondheim or the international Oslo airport Gardermoen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 714782381987