Experience the Aussie outback farm life in the Southern Flinders Ranges in South Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are the proud owners of 200 hectares in the Southern Flinders Ranges in South Australia. We offer an experience to those interested in understanding sustainable farming. We have an aquaculture farm with fish, marron & yabbies. With a vegetable garden & fruit orchard and we grow garlic. All irrigated with the nutrition of the fish. To make it sustainable we also have about 100 sheep and a few chickens. We run on solar with a back up generator and have coverage for telstra phone. Simple and natural living. We are 12 km from Wilmington with views of the hills, lots of birds and wild life, the miracles of sunrises and sunsets and a million stars at night by the camp fire.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    An experience in Aussie outback farm life and we can help with English.

  • Help

    Help

    Help includes, sheep work, general farm chores, aquaculture and a little bit of gardening. You will be alongside us.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Clean and comfortable caravan with a double bed. No smoking inside. Food will be shared with hosts, mixed diet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot of hiking in the area e.g. Alligator gorge and Mount Remarkable. Exploring the Flinders Ranges. Shearing sheep. Unforgettable Aussie experience.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 714748677518