Come and help us build our tribe in Bruton, beautiful Somerset, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 1767 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    53  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/06/2021

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello wonderful workaway community .
    This workaway opportunity will suit someone who LOVES KIDS sees them as equals and had lots of experience taking care of children .

    I AM LOOKING FOR SOMEONE FROM NOW UNTIL NOVEMBER 14th 🙏🏽
    Experience with kids is essential .
    You will be spending lots of time helping my 13 year old to learn/draw/discover and supporting me with domestic chores.
    If you think you could be a fit please message and we can chat :)

    I am looking for someone/people to come and help us create Tribe 🙏🏼
    I love open minded and non judgmental folk who will come and help me on this path of parenting and running a household .
    I would love someone/ people who can really become part of the family .
    I need a person who is really reliable who has lots of childcare experience and speaks good English
    If you can paint walls and garden then that is an added bonus.

    You will need to love kids . Love kids being kids in all their unpredictable craziness and brilliance.
    I value connection and my kids thrive around people who are open.
    My ideal would be a person / couple who are practical and really organised, happy to muck in and be flexible.

    Get in touch if you think you can help 😊I am pretty flexible and open so try me .

    Please note that a high level of English is absolutely key for this volunteer opportunity .


    It is me , Zillah and my 2 gorgeous children : Cosmo 13 and Esh who is 5 .
    Their Dad , Ben lives close by and is very much part of our day to day lives .

    - cleaning and tidying (if you like organising and keeping a beautiful space beautiful then this is the place for you . My environment is really important to me )
    - laundry (it's a bit of an endless cycle with kids )
    - playing / learning with Cosmo . I homeschool/unschool Cosmo so he is at home a lot . He loves to hang out with new people . He likes skateboarding , science , role playing games , board games and writing .
    He's really really into drawing at the moment.
    -taking care of Esh (he is very easy and likes to play board games and paint. He loves to go for walks) It's really important that you have experience of children that age.
    We go to a home ed group once or twice a week .
    I parent in a way that I feel respects my kids as individuals so they are both very good at expressive themselves.
    Esh is brilliant at expressing how he feels.
    They are delicious and articulate in where they are at and how they see the world.

    They both love trampolining - we have 3 trampolines that the kids play on a lot.
    It's important to me that my children have people around them who are curious about who they are and who want to connect with two extraordinary small beings.

    What we can offer you in return
    - a liberal open minded space in a town that offers many nature walks , lots of good people and a smattering of funky shops .
    - being part of our family . Community is important to me and I see us as a mini tribe that evolves and changes all the time with different people joining and leaving .

    Bruton is a small town surrounded by lush green countryside , streams , woods and villages .
    It's very small but there is a great community here . It is very very quiet .
    We are very close (10 minute train journey) to Frome which is a lovely alternative community with lots going on including gigs , conscious dance , LOADS of yoga and a plethora of brilliant workshops.
    We are about an hour from Bristol and an hour from Bath. Both cities that are very interesting to travellers . Bristol is a fantastic city full of diversity , funky places to eat , drink , party or chill.
    Devon isn't far away and well worth a day trip .

    I HAVE CATS (three of them) . If you have any kind of cat allergy , please be warned !

    I don’t take people under the age of 23 as I have found that I need people who are really self sufficient domestically ... you may be the exception to the rule in which case do connect ! .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think that our visitors learn a lot from us.
    I have developed my view and life through following my heart and listening to my intuition and it's been a glorious , fulfilling journey thus far with lots of shitty bits that I wouldn't change for anything ! And many many beautiful heart stopping moments .
    Motherhood has been an extraordinary, heart opening , consciousness raising , epic explosion of coming into my self for me and I feel very privileged to be sharing my time with these 2 young beings .
    We are all liberal in our outlook and tolerant in our nature .
    We live in rural England and I think that people may have preconceived ideas about Britishness : don't talk about feelings , stiff upper lip etc
    WE COULD NOT BE FURTHER FROM THAT STEREOTYPE !
    I dont feel that there are that many cultural differences . What doing workaway for 6 years has taught me is that everyone has the same wants , desires and needs ;
    We all want to fill our lives with love, passion, connection, adventure , meaning and peace .
    We are all living in one world that has increasingly transparent borders . What you will learn here is that we are all the same . That if you trust the universe then it will provide . I have met EXTRAORDINARY people through workaway . They have bought me so much nourishment , learning, richness and fun.
    I hope we have offered something of the same .
    We live in a normal little house in a small little town in England and we are shining as much as we are able.

    If you are a fan of Donald Trump then you probably won't be a great match with us !
    Come and visit . You are welcome and I'm am sure we will learn something from each other .

  • Help

    Help

    I ask for 4.5 volunteer hours a day, 5 days a week and much of that will be hanging with the kids which is super chill .
    I also ask for 2 nights baby-sitting but that is also easy .

    It generally works that volunteers help in the morning unless I need a babysitter for some time in the evening .
    Your day will start at 9 am ish and go through to 12.30 ish when we eat and then you would help for an hour later in the day ...either tidying downstairs whilst I put the children to bed or hanging out with either child whilst I spend time with the other one .

    I am always really fair with hours and flexible about time .
    I really want people staying here to be happy and have a joyful , nourishing time :-)
    I am happy for volunteers to help all their hours in full days if they want to go for a day trip out .
    I am happy to give you lifts to places but this placement tends to work best for people who are quite self sufficient as I have my hands full with 2 children .
    There is a great train station here is Bruton that has a direct line to London once a day . Berrys coaches comes from Hammersmith in West London to either Frome or Wincanton .....both a 20 minute drive away .
    We have LOTS of really good feedback . We enjoy sharing our home and have met some extraordinary people through this site . Many if whom have become firm friends.

    Many thanks and I look forward to hearing from you .

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a converted shed/studio in my back garden that is a lovely chilled white space with a single bed and a fold up one to add if there are 2 of you.

    It is warm, cosy,private and away from the main house. There is no water supply or cooking facilities so you would use my house . I live in a 3 bedroom house with a nice big garden. You can be as sociable or unsociable as you like .

    The Wi-Fi only works half way up the garden but I am very happy for workwayers to use internet in my house.

    I can cater for vegetarians but find accommodating a vegan diet tricky as it means I need to cook a separate dish every meal but if you are vegan and would like to come then I am happy to negotiate you cooking for yourself when our meals are non vegan .
    We have a healthy diet and have a sit down meal all together most evenings .
    We have 4 cats , one of which seems to have quite allergy prone fur so do be warned if you have bad car allergies .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am happy to cater for couples.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4.5 hours a day . max 25 hours/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)




































Host ref number: 6995286924dd