Join our busy big family living in central Edinburgh in a rambly old house with a magical garden, Scotland, UK.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 188 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy big family living in central Edinburgh in an old ramble house with a magical garden. We are Charlie and Sarah, Esther (14), Manu (11), Robin (6) and Lily (1), and Snowy the cat, and Sparky the terrapin... and some fish! We love to adventure with our camper van out into the wilds of Scotland during holidays and the weekends. We like cycling, sailing, hiking and wild swimming.

    Big news! Charlie and Sarah are getting married mid September on the west coast of Scotland (spectacular woodland weekend of fun and food and camping...). As we've had such an amazing experience meeting some fantastic people through workaway we thought we could put a small team together to help create a magical festival in the woods. Come help set it up and enjoy the party!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Be immersed in our culture and there will be plenty of opportunities to explore Edinburgh and local area as well as getting out to see more of Scotland. Charlie is an renewable energy engineer and Sarah is a musician and would be eager to share these skills. You would definitely learn how a modern Scottish/English family runs. We are quite active in the local eco community. We can provide you with a bicycle. There are great facilities, sporting and otherwise locally.

  • Help

    Help

    We'd love to have someone to stay to help out with day to day running of our home. Really our lives would be a little improved with another pair of adult hands to share in the logistics of a big family. Mostly this would include childcare. We would expect a workaway guest to help out for 4 hours a day for 5 days a week and take part in our family meal routine. Be another member of our family.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some bad French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can provide your own big room with a double bed. We have two shared bathrooms. Full use of the house! It is a big old 1890s house so in the winter it can get cold even with the central heating, but we cosy up by the log burner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Edinburgh is a beautiful city with so much to explore, from nature to culture. We are a walk or easy cycle from the city centre and on many regular bus routes. It is also very easy to get out to local beaches and hills.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 699177349333

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more