Come and help our family in the garden and around the house in Gotland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 165 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four who moved from London to Gotland five years ago. Marei is a heritage scientist working for the Swedish National Heritage Board. Steve is a musician working freelance. Our boys aged 6 and 10, go to the local school and are interested in everything.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A chance to learn alongside us about building, growing, gardening and more. We are an English German family, who also speak Swedish quite well, so there is plenty of chance to hone your language skills. It's also a musical house with a lot of instruments and opportunities to play. We are a vegetarian house and we all enjoy cooking and eating good food so there are a lot of chances to share ideas and recipes. In the autumn we press as much apple juice as we can, cook jams, pickle vegetables etc. and at other times of the year we brew beer and fruit wine.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people to come and stay to help out in the garden and around the house and who feel comfortable joining in the family life as well as feeling free to do their own thing. We have a large garden which is quite wild in places, we are trying to tame it a little whilst growing as much food as we can. We have chickens so some help collecting eggs, feeding, cleaning out will be needed. We are also renovating a guest house. We have two boys aged 5 and 9 who love guests and involving everyone in their play, you may be needed to drop off / pick up from school sometimes or babysit on rare occasions. In summer we turn our large barn into a temporary art space hosting exhibitions and occasional concerts, help with installation and preparation is always welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest room with double bed, wardrobe, shelves, desk, shared bathroom and access to the whole house. You are more than welcome to join us for all meals, we don't have any meat in the house, all food is vegetarian and sometimes vegan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Gotland is a beautiful, peaceful island, good for exploring by car or bike. We live in the middle making it easy to get to the east and west coasts. There are plenty of good beaches, forest walks and ancient sites to visit. Visby is a picturesque medieval town 15km away, full of bars and restaurants with a real buzz in the summer months. You can have some access to our car, a bike will always be available, there is also a limited bus connection taking 20mins to Visby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Green house
Vegetable garden
Herb bed and guest house
Chicken roaming in our garden
Stacking wood
view over the garden and guest house
front of the house
guest room

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 698745464349