Looking for Workawayers to help with our new project of restoring an abandoned piece of land into a working farm in Umbria, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/07/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Sophie and Marcus an English/Italian/ German husband and wife, living between the beautiful Umbrian country side and the busy city of London.
    We recently purchased an abandoned piece of land in Umbria close where my family (Sophie) lives and where I grew up.
    Our plan is to regeneratively restore the abandoned piece of land and turn it into a working/thriving Farm.
    My parents Beatrix and Claudio and us when we are in Umbria live in a restored country side homestead with a vegetable garden, a pond, and 2 adjoining apartments for friends and family.
    The nearest town reachable by foot is the lovely village of Doglio, it has a little Bar ( caffè) and a tiny grocery shop. The main town, around 20-30 min drive by car is Todi.
    Our house is in the rural hearth of Umbria, it is really peaceful, we are surrounded by hills, woods and land, the only thing that can keep you up at night are the frogs singing in the pond.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A chance to learn/ practise Italian/English or German, insides Into sustainable living, vegetable garden maintenance! Get to know the locals!

  • Help

    Help

    In exchange of accommodation and most food we would like open minded/ young people to come and help us with our project (clearing land, building, clear old farmhouse, build new vegetable garden, plant threes and so on) and also help a bit around the house (picking vegetables in the garden, fruit picking for jam, cutting grass, helping with little maintenance jobs around the house, occasional cleaning in the house and also possibly helping with sorting out areas in the garden)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation can depend on availability, your own private flat / or tent in the garden
    Private flat: our house is made out of 2 guests flats on the ground floor and on the first floor is the area where Sophie Parents live.
    Our 2 guest flats are :
    1 bedroom with big living room/kitchen area, small bathroom,
    2 bed flat with living room, separate kitchen (basic appliances) 2 bathrooms.
    If there is someone already staying in the flats ( we have friends and beekeepers often coming to visit us) then we will put a nice tent in the garden next to the house, and you will have access of course to the kitchen and bathroom in the house.
    Food is offered most of the time whilst you are staying with us, happy to have meals together but sometimes you might need to self cater, happy to provide basic food supplies for you to use, plus whatever is in the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beatrix (Sophies Mom) drives to Todi every day in the morning and comes back in the evening, so you are more than welcome to get a lift into town, from Todi there are 2 buses a day that go to Rome in 2h, if you fancy a week end in the big city!
    Doglio can be reached by foot in 30 min, or you can borrow our bikes for a tour around the country side roads! There are also plenty of possibilities for walks around the woods and fields... your mind is your only constraint:-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 695957961772