Fun arty family waiting to welcome you in funky, friendly Brixton London

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 258 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    56.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a friendly, busy family living in Streatham, South London, near bustling, trendy Brixton and with fabulous transport links to central London.
    We have a large house and garden in a quiet neighbourhood.
    In our neighbourhood, we live close to shops and bars/pubs, as well as sports centres/gyms and some of South London’s most wonderful parks
    Household comprises screenwriter mum and two chatty girls aged 16 and 8
    Responsibilities include household help (basic tidying, some shopping, laundry, bins), and some childcare/babysitting (early mornings and early evenings). We have a cleaner. You will have a lot of time in which to explore London.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Benefits include:
    - making new friends and contacts
    - easy access to London and all its wonderful and exciting cultural life (15 mins by tube to Oxford Circus from Brixton), 15 mins to South Bank (Tate, bfi, National Theatre etc) on overland train
    (Responsibilities will be at start of day and late pm/early eve mostly so traveller will have days clear to explore!)
    - Role would suit film/culture enthusiast as mum (Bafta member) often has access to free screenings, plus we watch and discuss lots of movies!
    - Also anyone interested in dance/performance as both girls keen on these (older daughter at full time ballet school) - we would be well placed to introduce traveller to dance training and courses in London
    - we are an arty family, well connected with contacts in all areas of the arts and keen to support up and coming artistic talents! The house is jam-packed with books, pictures and films.
    - language exchange: perfect your English with us! Having French as a first language essential as both girls learning French at school

  • Help

    Help

    Getting 8 year old up and ready for school
    Walking her to local school (5 mins away)
    Shopping and cooking
    Emptying dishwasher
    Laundry
    Basic tidying
    Some evening babysitting agreed in advance
    Showing initiative
    Some childcare at weekends, agreed in advance

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a big house with plenty of space - a large kitchen and double living room, WiFi, central heating.
    You will have your own 1st floor bedroom with single bed and a view of the pretty, leafy garden. There is a bathroom (shared with family) right next to your room.
    You may eat with us, sharing our food. Special dietary tastes and requirements can of course be accommodated.
    Please note: we have TWO ADORABLE CATS!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 5 mins walk from Tulse Hill station with direct links to central London and the countryside/coast.
    15 mins walk to Streatham Hill station and a range of other stations.
    5 mins from our house is the bus stop for getting to Brixton - the bus route is well served with a very regular service, bus journey to tube takes 10/15 mins

    We are a busy family. Mum has a successful screenwriting career, teen daughter at ballet school and busy with school work too, younger daughter at local primary school and keen street dancer.

    We are very friendly with our neighbours and often entertain friends.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 695335386131

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more