Come to our farm and learn more about permaculture and how to grow veggies in Melbourne, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone!

    We are Will and Laura, we live in Melbourne and run a 5 acre market garden on the outskirts of the city. Will is half British, half Aussie and worked as a chef for many years before beginning to establish his market garden. Laura grew up close to Melbourne and works in finance. After spending time travelling ourselves, in Europe and in Africa, we have settled down, adopted a baby lamb (which now lives at the farm) and are expecting a baby.

    We are looking for practical, friendly, genuine people to help out predominantly at the market garden but also potentially around the house as we prepare for the baby arriving.

    We grow fresh vegetables in our garden and sell them at farmers markets on Saturdays. We need help with planting, picking and general farm maintenance and also potentially at the markets.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is plenty to learn about on the farm, from permaculture to the process of growing veggies on a large scale.


    We love cooking and creating new dishes at home. We've both lived in Melbourne for a number of years so have lots of tips and information about Melbourne and Victoria.

    Workawayers are free to organise their own hours. The farm is a half an hour drive from our home so we would encourage you to work 3 full days and enjoy the rest of your time as you please.

  • Help

    Help

    On a day to day basis we will need help with planting and picking at the market garden.

    We are in the process of building some greenhouses and would love some help with this too, basic building so no previous experience necessary.

    Some help with a bit of redecorating/nursery preparation in the house would also be great.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private double bedroom with en suite on the ground floor of our townhouse in Brunswick (with WiFi).

    Breakfast (basic) and dinner provided (plus lunch on farm work days).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the heart of Melbourne in Brunswick, with easy tram access to the CBD. There is plenty to see and do in and around the city including; St Kilda Beach, Melbourne Museum, The Old Gaol, The National Gallery and lots of beautiful city parks. Phillip Island and The Great Ocean Road are also easily accessed from Melbourne.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 695225252249