Help with maintaining small vineyard and general maintenance/animal care in a limestone valley in the South Island, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 106 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We (Barry and Tracey), along with our daughter and her family live on a small vineyard in a limestone valley in the South Island only one hour from the lakes and ski-fields. We run a wedding venue and function centre and need help this year to maintain the vines and grounds, as well as a spot of painting and general maintenance work to complete projects. Our lovely border collies Coral, Dougal, Diego and cat Tiggy are sure to keep you company too. We also have a pet pig, ram and calves as well as sheep.
    We like to work hard and then enjoy the outdoors on our time off. If you are interested in volunteering in one of the most beautiful places in the world and having access to some of the best scenery on your days off then contact us to arrange your stay.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about viticulture (from novices) and share the experience of building a fledgling hospitality business.
    Enjoy taking our bikes for a ride to the local river and we are 10 minutes from Pleasant Point historical railway.
    Walk through native bush at Kakahu or Peel Forest reserves or travel further afield to Lake Tekapo and Mt Cook.

  • Help

    Help

    Building
    Painting
    Vineyard work (general maintenance and we will guide you)
    Gardening
    General maintenance

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Until early November the accommodation is a cabin which is cosy and has wifi and a heater. You will have access to a bathroom and toilet. It is shared in the main house with us. After November that accommodation is in a modern caravan which has its own living area and wifi. Everything else about your stay will stay the same as below.
    We provide three meals a day.
    Self help breakfast.
    Casual lunch with us that I prepare.
    Dinner with us.
    Access to tea, water and coffee. You are to provide your own alcohol and soft drink although we do enjoy our own wine sometimes as a treat:)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ski-fields and Mackenzie High Country including Mt Cook and Lake Tekapo are on our doorstep for you to enjoy.
    Local bus service and we are willing to drive you to pick up point. We have two mountain bikes to make the most of all the local attractions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs a day, 5 days a week

Sunny conservatory where you will enjoy meals with us.
Our 3 gorgeous Grandkids live onsite so it is important to like kids. They will most likely be out there 'helping'. Lol
Our home- the historic Clifton Cottage
Our beautiful boy, Diego
Lake Tekapo





Host ref number: 688765155661