Join our small non-traditional family in a country house on the Berici Hills, surrounded by vineyards and olive trees, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 52 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small non-traditional family made up of: Anna (older sister), Valentina (younger sister), Drazen (Anna's boyfriend) and Thor (Valentina's 4-legged best friend). We live in a country house on the Berici Hills, surrounded by vineyards and olive trees we cultivate, 10 min drive from civilization. Less than one hour drive from the wonderful cities of Verona, Vicenza and Padua, we still live in a place where you meet wild deers, hares and badgers when strolling around the vineyards. It's a great place if you enjoy the countryside: think bike rides, long walks, starry nights, birds singing... and lots of bugs. All the same, the close town of Lonigo is well connected by train and bus, and you could easily move around or commute if you plan on taking some course in the city or such.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our house is surrounded by our own vineyards and immersed in nature. The town of Lonigo is small, but has everything you need, froms shops, to restaurants, movie thater and so on. The area we live in is rich in history and culture, and there is lots to see if you are here to visit the country (cities, Dolomites, Garda lake, the Venice lagoon and coast..). If you are up for the quiet rural environment, why not learn about vineyards, wine making, olive trees and oil? We all work in our family's business ( typically Italian , of course!), and we are wine makers: we will be happy to share everything we know with you. And of course, we are inviting you to our house because we like to meet people, share stuff, and have fun. Anna will love to practise or learn any language you speak, Drazen is a professional cocktail maker, and Valentina is the athlete of the trio - although she will be abroad for some months ( joining a circus school!). We will offer you the typical Italian countryside experience, with our own special twist: Drazen is Bosnian and lived abroad for many years together with Anna - thats why in out kitchen you will try anything, from lasagne to felafel!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for somebody who will help us clean the house, mown the lawn and do some gardening, wash the car, walk the dog. You don't need to spend several hours a day and you can manage your schedule as you wish, we will just give you some simple weekly tasts to take care of. We are slowly renovating the old country house, so we might have some projects going on while you are here, and would like some help with that as well (no major things as walls or roof, maybe just readjusting old furnture or stuff like that). The ideal candidate is an outgoing person who will enjoy going out with us, preparing bbqs, finding fun stuff to do on weekends. We would prefer a handy person who can partecipate in our little renovation and gardening projects, and we will be happy to learn whatever you can teach us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, Serbo-Croatian, English, French, German, Russian, Spanish, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accomodation is a private room inside our own house, with common bathroom. As long as you are here we will share our house with you: common spaces, kitchen, and so on. The bedroom we are offering will be fitted to welcome you. We will offer you to share meals with us, but will expect you to pay your own expenses when we eat out. There is no public transport from the house to the town, but you can catch a ride with us basically every day (when we go to work). You can also use our bike, but rember we live on a hill!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would like to organize this experience the best way possible for all parties involded, so please drop us a few lines and tell us what your needs/hopes/expectations are. We can give you details on how to move around, what there is to see and do here, and how to organize your work away experience. We can accomodate couples, but only occasionally: please send us a note, we'll tell you if it's good timig!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Venice - 1 hour away
Drazen walking with Thor
Venice - 1 hour away
Fishin by the small lake close by
View from the garden
Friends having fun at the winery
Relaxing with friends in the garden
Typical project we might work on.. Bird house!
View from the vineyards
House interior: kitchen
Fun activities: face painting at Carnival
Anna, Vale, Drazen and Thor
Sunday breakfast: Drazen and Vale


Host ref number: 686418927746