Looking for Worldschooling Families for our Kids' Club in Koh Chang, Thailand

Country

Thailand

Favourited 342 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Starting MAY 2020 -

    Hello,
    I am Sarah, a French mama of an unschooled 5 year old daughter, and I put together a non-profit informal 'Kids Club' for local and international children on Koh Chang. It is located at the heart of a natural oasis by a lagoon (5 min from the beach!), amidst an amazing natural garden and offers a non-conventional yet highly enriching environment. We focus on free play, outdoor play, crafts, natural movement and community involvement. It is just a DREAM ENVIRONMENT for kids to explore, play and learn! It is a play-centered, 'unschooling' play group with a purpose to learn naturally through play and individual exploration. Opening hours are Monday to Friday 9:30 to 12:30.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Koh Chang is a fantastic immersion into the fascinating thai lifestyle and exciting tourist scene. It is a good island to learn to slow down, be in touch with nature, and enjoy island life. Visitors will not enjoy the beautiful sceneries of tropical Koh Chang but also the peaceful thai lifestyle and vibrant international scene.
    It is one of the most beautiful, relaxing and inspiring places on the island.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for world schooling/unschooling/traveling families (at least one parent + one child, ideally a bigger family) to join our kids' club:
    - volunteering parents (at least one of them) supervise the kids' club in the morning
    - the family's child/children join the kids' club in the morning to play play play with their new friends! :)

    The job of the volunteering parent(s) is to supervise children and offer their caring presence when needed as 'co-pilots' when the children play, learn, explore and grow. The focus is on child-led activities and allowing independent, natural learning.

    The job also involves preparing the room before the kids' arrival (light cleaning, 20 min) and tidying/closing the room after (20 min).

    We prefer for families to stay one month minimum.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Both the Kids' Club and the Volunteers' House are located inside a beautiful eco-resort in a lush garden 5 min walk to the sea.
    Volunteering families are housed in a private, traditional Thai wood house on stilts. It consists of one large room (approx. 30 sq meters, 5 beds max.) and an L-shaped terrace with views of the nature and lagoon. It is an open-style house which means you feel more like ‘living in nature’ then being locked up inside. (Note: the island is VERY SAFE).
    Toilet and bathroom (hot shower) are separate (30 sec away).
    Volunteers have access to a kitchen with basic equipment and get a 30% discount at the resort restaurant. They have access to the resort garden and facilities.
    Wifi is available throughout the resort (mostly excellent but with minor cuts now and then).
    We provide a basic food budget for the volunteering parent and there are some opportunities to earn additional money doing afternoon babysitting/tutoring.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers will have all afternoons and weekends off which means lots of time to visit the island, snorkel, dive, climb the mountains, relax at the beach, enjoy delicious thai food and get to make new friends - it's a very nice, relaxed and friendly island perfect for a break from city life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 20 hours


Host ref number: 685147211392