Looking for gardening lovers in Gelderland, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

updated  

Favourited 517 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ** Please note: we do not do long stays as we are often away.

    Leo (a young 72) is Dutch and Joanna ( a very young 70) is originally from New Zealand. We moved in 2016 to live in the east of the Netherlands, in Eerbeek (in the Hoge Veluwe National Park) in a detached , fairly large house with a large garden. Behind our garden is the forest with lots of walking/biking tracks.

    Leo is an architect and the best handyman around (that's what people say, yeah!) and Joanna works as a freelance English tutor (business English/skype lessons) and even Dutch!

    One of our daughters lives in Australia with our two grandchildren. Our other daughter lives in the Netherlands with her husband and 2 children.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improve your English (Joanna is a native speaker)! or even learn a little bit of Dutch if you would like to.

  • Help

    Help

    If you decide to come to our place we can pick you up at the train station in Dieren, Gelderland. Google maps will show you where we are in the eastern part of the Netherlands

    We would really love to have someone who knows a bit about gardening (and it is much better if you love to get your hands dirty, of course). Please note that this would be the main task.

    As a workawayer, you will be a part of our lives, so we would appreciate it if you could participate with household chores, such as helping in the kitchen (Joanna loves doing the cooking), walking the dogs (if we have them), cleaning your room and bathroom when you leave etc.

    We prefer to have dinner with you as we really do love company.

    We, (and we presume, you as well) like our privacy in the evenings though.

    If you like being in a peaceful and quiet environment, then our house is the place to be! It might not be ideal for a young single as it is fairly quiet here. We would prefer non-smokers and a couple.

    Just a note to say that we are part-time carers for one or two labradors. We don't have any more pets ourselves as we travel a lot. So you would have to be ok to sometimes have dogs around.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have our bedroom and bathroom downstairs. Upstairs there is a guest bedroom with separate bathroom (shower and toilet). In the bedroom, there is plenty of room to sit and there is a table (to perhaps use for your laptop?)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    the Hoge Veluwe National Park is basically the green heart of Holland, and a popular tourist attraction. It is a forest-rich ridge of hills (1100 km2) in the province of Gelderland.

    Besides the natural beauty of the area, other tourist attractions include four zoos, over 50 museums including the famous Kröller-Müller art museum, and the royal palace Het Loo at Apeldoorn. The National Sports Centre Papendal, a large sports complex and Olympic Games training facility is located in the south of the Veluwe near Arnhem.

    We have bikes available which offers you the opportunity to visit several gorgeous spots in the area.
    We are within biking distance (max 1 hour) of Zutphen, Apeldoorn, Arnhem and the National Park.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    we love dogs but we would prefer that he/she is well trained. We would also prefer he/she doesnt go upstairs, or sleep in beds or get up onto the couch.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week












Host ref number: 684496458421