Come and help us on our horsefarm in Cercal do Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 328 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    39  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    527

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Portuguese -Belgian couple who live on a nice 9 ha horsefarm in south Portugal. We have a quiet place with several horses, dogs, cats, chickens and ducks. Since it is a recent farm, we are still making a lot of improvements and could use a helping hand of one or two volunteers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help you to explore all your interests. The region is very rich in nature (countryside and coast) and outdoor activities. In the immediate surroundings you can go walking or use a bike or horse to explore nature. A little further there are beautiful beaches to discover. We speak several languages (portugese, english, french, dutch) which can be convenient for people trying to learn or improve language skills.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for one or two persons to help us around with the farm. We need you to help with feeding of the horses, grooming and general care and farmwork. Riding and training of the horses is a big plus, but not essential. Also it would be nice to get some help with the maintainance of the swimmingpool (which you can of course use) and terrace. Further a bit of help in and around the house is appreciated and if you have green fingers for gardening even better. But you also will have time enough for relaxing and getting to know the area, because we are flexible about helping hours. Since we both have full-time jobs, we are not always on the farm, so we need people who we can trust and who can work independently. We are a bit out of town, so it is very quiet here, be sure you can handle the silence and be able to spent quite some hours a day alone (although our friendly animals are great company ).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will get your own room in our house, with access to the whole house. Besides the accommodation we offer you food at home. You can use any food for your breakfast and lunch. For the dinner we try to eat together. We usually try to keep a healthy diet with lots of fruit and veggies, some fish and occasionally some meat. So vegetarians (and even vegans) will adapt well, but we are willing to make an effort to adapt to any kind of diet. Of course you are also more than welcome to cook some typical food from your country...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)
























Host ref number: 681865766147