Your art exchanged for a city centre break in Bonny Glasgow, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 142 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Work Away!

    After selling our business last year we took a year off and travelled across Central Europe in a campervan!

    We even did some Work Away experiences along the way in France and the UK. It was such a fantastic part of traveling and a great way to meet and connect with new people.

    We're now living in our apartment in Glasgow, that has been refurbished over the last couple of years.
    The majority of the work is complete, but there are a couple of small projects that we would love to place in your skilled hands!

    We're looking for people who want to have a short stay in the city, up to a week.

    Artists!! Stays with us and create some pieces for the empty walls in your signature style. We'd love to have pieces from artists across the world!

    Other stuff:
    There is a hallway that needs a large built in cupboard removed, walls plastered and then help to build stylish new storage.
    There is also a small recess in the sitting room where a small bespoke cabinet would look wonderful...
    In the long term there is also a bathroom renovation planned.

    Glasgow:
    Our place is in the Merchant city of Glasgow. Its a really cool area with lots of great restaurants and bars surrounding it. Its also really close to a lot of great cultural attractions- Gallery of modern art, Necropolis, Glasgow green, River side museum, peoples palace, SSE Hydro.

    Glasgow is famous for music venues and the fantastic friendly people!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a vibrant beautiful city. A great location for exploring Glasgow and the surrounding country.

    We're a friendly gay couple, who would love to host interesting, skilled and relaxed young people. We made friends for life when we did work away ourselves.

    We can help with your English language skills.

    We sometimes have very busy periods with work, so Independent travellers who are happy to explore the city alone are very welcome.

  • Help

    Help

    Artists / carpenters / plasterers /

    Spend some time working on a piece of art during your stay. We have some limited supplies so if you have any you can bring with you that would be fantastic. But we can purchase some bits as well.

    Skilled carpentry jobs: making a cabinet , designing and building some hallway storage

    We have reasonable tools, but nothing specialist. Anyone who is traveling with their own tools would be very welcome.
    Of course we can also buy some items.

    Taking the dog for walks is also appreciated!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Urdu, Hindi, very limited French and a phrase or two of Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The apartment is a really lovely space, with a large open plan sitting and dining room, a new kitchen and some great architectural features.
    The spare bedroom, is in a mezzanine above the sitting room. this means that it only has blinds between it and the sitting room. (No doors!!!) So it would suit someone who is quite relaxed about sleeping schedules and noise etc. Although we have very civilised sleeping times... mostly :-)

    There is also a separate bathroom for guests.

    Relaxed use of all the space is encouraged.

    We'd love you join us for dinners with lots of lovely Scottish food! Having parents from South Asia means I also love to make a good curry!
    We're also big fans of vegetarian food, so it's not a problem for us to abandon meat for a while!
    Anyone who loves to cook can also feel free to take a turn! and of course the tidy up is a shared job!
    Simple breakfasts and lunches are of course also provided.
    There is WiFi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot of public transport around us. We're also very close to the two main train stations in Glasgow.
    There is fantastic shopping, eating and playing in Glasgow!

    We have a car and can sometimes take you to places with some pre arrangement.

    We are a gay male couple so this shouldn't be an issue for any guests!

    We're very laid back people but we are also very hard working and meticulous and expect you to try your best at any task.

    There is also a little dog living with us. He lives for walks, cuddles and treats!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 678597873635

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more