Help at white cockatoo heaven in Billinudgel, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have been living on our 50 acres covered very luxuriant hills with beautiful views to the Coral Sea for nearly 30 years now.
    We love this land with its creeks, trails and subtropical native forest, 6 dams and 8 paddocks for our small herd of 7 to 8 Shahiwals from Pakistan. They live on the property and help us to organically maintain it clean.

    We are retirees in our seventies. We love visiting our families and friends in Europe, Canada, the States, French Indies and Australia. We are friendly, warm and open people enjoying very much the alternative ways of life in our area.

    We want to share the beauty and the quality of living which our land can offer to other Nature lovers, land carers and Star gazers like us.
    We need help to maintain it clean and healthy, especially in these days of challenging climate changing conditions.

    GARDENING - FARMSTAY HELP - GENERAL MAINTENANCE
    We have orchards with citrus trees, and various flowers, herbs and plants in many beds and gardens around our home and our Guests house, all of which needing great care and maintenance.

    We would like to receive the help of 1 or 2 Workawayers over a minimum of 1 weekend to a maximum of 3 weeks, who would like to help us in exchange for
    1) living in a beautiful place,
    2) sharing good healthy organic food with us from local markets in our area
    3) for 2 to 4 hours a day during weekdays, at their own pace, in their own time

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in a rural area offering lots of interests : Local Farmers Markets, local Crafts Markets, National Parks, Nature Reserves, Festivals. We are 2 hours away from Brisbane, 1 hour away from Southern Cross University in Lismore, and Woollongong Universtity, 30 minutes to Byron Bay and its numerous surfing beaches, 45 minutes away from Gold Coast and Ballina Airports, and from Murwillumbah and Tweed Valley.
    We live in a friendly neighbourhood within a dynamic community involved in sustainable ways of living, very artistic and non-conformist, New Age and open, supportive to the First Nations in Australia, multiculturalism, spirituality and grassroots culture.
    We have families in France, Quebec, Guadeloupe, Minnesota (USA) Sydney and Melbourne in Australia.
    We love meeting and sharing with people. We go to Open Floor Dance and 5 Rhythms Dance every week and practise various massages, Hatha-Yoga, Qi Cong, Tantra and various Meditations.
    We also love free Singing and Music and are very interested in Traditional Medicine such as Homeopathy, Naturopathy, Traditional Chinese Medicine and Ayurveda.
    The hosts also offer workshops in mask making and breadmaking and speak English and French.

  • Help

    Help

    GARDENING
    - Planting herbs, flowers, fruit trees, plants
    - Weeding
    - Mulching and Composting
    - Trimming, brush cutting
    - Watering

    FARMSTAY HELP
    - Stacking wood
    - Harvesting
    - Weeding and cleaning pavers


    GENERAL MAINTENANCE
    - dusting and vacuuming
    - cleaning floors, windows, bathrooms
    - doing the laundry : bedding and towels, tea-towels and wash cloths
    - making beds

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    - Private spot on the land for Tent, Campervan, Trailer/Caravan with water, near accommodation and driveway
    - Private parking
    - 5 litres Plastic Water Dispensers provided for Filtered water
    - Basics provided : toilet-paper, hand soap
    - Infrared Sauna and Laundry : washing machine/tub/bench with connection to Wi Fi /dryer/airer
    - Basic laundry products provided
    - Outside shower in private cubicle with Hot/Cold taps, and strong water flow

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are non-smokers, pro-health and pro-organic consumers, and consider our place ideal for young adults, adults and elders, but unsuitable for children and pets.
    We are responsible, caring, independent and discreet people and expect our guests to be likewise.
    Helpers can do whatever they want with their time off. They absolutely need a car and preferably 4 WD.
    We will always be available every day from 7:30am to 7:30pm and have house rules : No smoking of any kind - No Visitors in the premises - No party or event.
    We love sharing our experiences in bread making, mask-making, massages, singing, dancing, meditating and cooking with friendly like-minded travellers coming our way❣
    We especially need help during the months of September and October this year 2022, as one of us will be then travelling abroad.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A regular family campervan or an operational fully equipped trailer/caravan could be ok. Depending on weather, however, workawayers might have to park outside the property to avoid bogging, getting caught on wet grass or watery mud.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Mornings and/or afternoons, between 8:30am and 3:30pm on weekdays most of the time


Host ref number: 678261595571