Play and Explore in Our Home and City - Painters, Builders, Designers Welcome, Kingston, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Warm and inviting, creative, professional family home with loving pets.
    Gardens, beautiful kitchen, real food.
    Always guests, friends, and family around.
    Historic, waterfront city with universities/college, culture and magnificent opportunities for recreation.
    Safe, friendly neighbourhood with lots of parking.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the pleasure of being in our simple, easy going home, warm with candlelight on most days.

    Cat, dog, chickens in the back yard.

    Wonderful kitchen and wholesome food.

    Quiet street with community garden, soccer fields, track and outdoor swimming pool near by.

    Friendly neighbours.

    House is generally pretty quite. Busy on week day mornings with getting ready for school and work.
    Sometimes music, sometimes watching movies/TV online.

    We like to laugh :).

    Young people, friends and family of all ages, coming and going plus regular guests.

    We love hosting travelers and invite you to make yourself at home.

  • Help

    Help

    Several Opportunities - No Deadlines

    Welcoming experienced painters to do interior work with Allback linseed oil paint.
    Two bedrooms, stairwell, centre hall, living room, dining room, kitchen, bathroom - including ceilings, trim and several windows.
    This is beautiful paint, waiting for right person to apply with care and love.

    Project could be extended to finish up some exterior work.

    Unskilled prep possibilities for all of these projects - washing walls, sanding, digging etc.

    We are ready to install a new bath tub. Job will require some carpentry, plumbing and tile work.

    Plan for 50' of fencing, tent and yoga platform, garden gym.

    We would love for a creatively skilled individual or team to come and design two building projects for us.

    First is a small third story look out / sleeping loft to side of our home.

    Second is to turn a cinder block garage into yoga studio / guest home with outdoor storage.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, children speak French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation depends on when you come and who else is staying here - there may be a bedroom ;-).

    At the very least, warm and cozy basement space is usually available.

    Backyard tenting or hammocking if it isn't cold and snowy (unless that appeals) is also always a possibility.

    CLEAN, COMFORTABLE BEDDING PROVIDED AND WASHED BIWEEKLY.

    You will have full access to our home including Wifi, laundry and kitchen.

    Overnight accommodation for about four hours of help a day would be great - a little more if we are providing food and making meals - a little less if you would like to cook for us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a 30 minute walk to historic downtown Kingston, Queen's University, Lake Ontario waterfront and all amenities including gyms, sports fields, Boiler Room climbing gym, yoga studios, lots of live music, Screening Room, Grand Theatre, Isobel Bader Performing Arts Centre, museums, galleries, restaurants, cafes, craft breweries, Tara Foods, beautiful parks, historic City Hall farmers market on Saturdays and local Memorial Centre farmers market just down the street on Sundays.

    Lots of near by exploring, Wolfe Island, Amhearst Island (sheep farm pic), 1000 Islands, Gould Lake (pic), Frontenac Park, Rideau Canal World Heritage Site, Prince Edward County.

    Ottawa, Montreal, Toronto are day trips.

    Algonquin Park, Bon Echo Park.
    New York City a five-hour drive.

    Bus stop 2 minutes away.

    Lots of parking.

    Enterprise Car Rental at 600 Princess Street - very friendly and helpful.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 678122484615