Help us turn an old farmhouse into a home, Limoges, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 214 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 50 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Bobby and Maxine, a young Scottish/Dutch couple who own a little farmhouse outside Limoges. Our house is an unfinished yet cozy 2/3 bedroom, we have 2 acres of field/jungle with various fruit and nut trees and a little veg plot. We are proud parents of a dog and a cat (Marvin and Barnaby).

    We are looking for enthusiastic people who are willing to help us out with gardening, building, dog walking and various other bits and pieces. If you have construction/gardening knowledge that would be awesome however as long as you are happy to muck in as part of the team and get a bit dirty then it doesn't really matter. We ask for 5 hours a day with free weekends plus help with communal jobs like cooking/cleaning in exchange for hearty meals, regular outings, music/games and the odd night of cheap wine/beer. Both of us have done a lot of volunteering in the past so hopefully we have a rough idea about the kind of things that will make your stay enjoyable.

    Unfortunately both of us work weekdays, I finish at 5:30 and Maxine at 1:30-3:00, we are both up early (6ish!) so we need people who are dynamic and able to work by themselves occasionally. If you'd like to learn some bits and pieces about construction, gardening, sewing etc then we would be glad to help, likewise we are always happy to learn new things!

    So we are both 99% vegetarian but if you want to eat meat you can always pick some up when we go shopping. If you have any preferences just let us know.

    Update : Maxine has had to return to the Netherlands to finish her studies so for now it is just myself (Bob), Marvin and Barnaby. As I will have to leave Marvin at home while i'm at work i'm looking for somebody willing to look after him while i'm gone, he's quite old and very easy to look after :)

    Take care!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    So the house is basically a complete renovation which means there are a lot of different jobs needing done. This year I need a lot of help in the garden so it would be a massive help if that's something you are interested in.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It's an old farmhouse located in a very beautiful rural area with a few other houses and farms scattered nearby. The house is basic and can get hot and cold depending on the weather outside however we have wood burners and hot water bottles.

    There are towns and villages nearby with popular beach lakes, plus it's a 30 minute drive to Limoges city centre so it is peaceful but easily escaped when necessary. Our house is very rural so don't expect to be able to walk to the shops/bar, we will take you out and about though and make sure you see a bit of the area.

    The property consists of just over 2 acres of garden/field, a renovated ex sheepfold (which is now a bedroom/living area), the main house plus a ruin (which is currently half a wall).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your stay i'll do my best to show you the area and make some wee visits to various places. It's a great area if you like photography and there are lots of places of historical significance (Limoges was home of the resistance during WW2), however if that's not your thing i'm equally happy to drink beer, listen to music and play board games. We go to the beach lakes almost every day (sometimes night) in the summer..

    Safe travels guys! :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours but work is varied and time is flexible :)




Host ref number: 677666898955