Welcome to a bit different small farm in the countryside in Närkesberg, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/12/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! This is a small high located 9ha farm in the middle of nature and wildlife.
    We who live here are my two daughters Lisa 11 and Maya 9 and me Tommy 40. Also a few sheep's with lamb's, a few hens and a drafthorse.
    I believe we are quite open-minded, love to learn and need to create. Lisa want to be an artist and bookwriter, Maja totally makes her own path and me, I try to make the best of what life gives to me but I'm everywhere with a lot of ideas spinning around to create. My goals are not easygoing but I aim hard and for the future for a healthier and more sustainable life.

    Since 2 years I started to build a new farm offgrid beside the old one. The new farm will be wind and solarpowerd.
    Plans are to have small coarses in different kinds of handcrafts in the future.
    This year will be the first for new fence, crops and a possible living.
    It's still a lot to be done so we need help with everything from gardening (new rised beds, planting trees and berries vegetables), building shed, make boards and beems with the small sawmill), firewood and a lot of greenwood work, learn (and meet new people).

    Some offgrid project like solar-air ventilator for the house and solar-air dryer for drying fruit berries and mushrooms for example.

    Planting trees and a fence for a new piece of forest to compensate the trees used for building the new farm.

    Let's share what we got

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think it's a lot of new/old things to learn. When you build and make things with your hands and low cost. You need to use your head, reuse, invent, constantly learn new things and above all see how people managed back in the days when the life was harder but simpler..

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, carpentry, animal care, planting, stacking stonewall/ground, scything. Harvest hay, mushrooms, berries, vegetables. Build, make and restore fence, firewood, cooking.
    I think it's something for everyone.

  • Languages spoken

    Swedish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It's for you to choose how to live at your stay here. Beds in the main house, caravan, tent, cabin or windshelter. But we cook and eat together in the main house or outside. We try to eat as much possible what the farm and surrounding gives. We are not vegan but eat quite much vegan or vegetarian food, specially summertime.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on the countryside surrounded by meadows, forest for harvesting berries mushrooms recreation and lakes for both swimming and fishing.
    There is about a handfull of volunteerhosts in the area so it's possible to meet other volunteers and hosts.
    National parks and other protected areas with trails for hiking/running and also Mtb trails. In aug-sept it's a harvestmarket/fest nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 676899322272