Looking for Workawayers to help with our horses on farm, North Yorkshire Moors, England

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 794 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1327

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small horse farm on the edge of the North Yorkshire moors with mainly horses, but also a cat, two goats, hens and two dogs.

    We are a young (ish) couple with a new baby. James is a horse farrier and Charlotte runs the yard at home. We have around 10 horses here and people come most days to ride their horses. Come May the horses go out in the fields and the barns are used to host weddings so the work varies from the winter to the summer quite a lot!

    It is a lovely rural area, in a beautiful setting with lots of walking on the doorstep. The nearest market town is only 1 mile away, Kirkbymoorside, which has a farmers market every Wednesday. There is a bus stop 10 minutes walk away which you can get to places like Pickering, Helmsley, Whitby and York.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a friendly couple and try to engage with helpers. Over the years of having volunteers on here and helpex we have made many friends and even visited some volunteers in their own country! If a volunteer wants to develop their basic horse experience this is a good place as you will have plenty of time to spend with them.

    The area is a truly English countryside area and right on the edge of the beautiful North Yorkshire moors with fantastic hiking and tourist attractions. It's a good place for people wanting some down time too. It is very much a tradition English rural area.

    You can visit Whitby, Scarborough, york, pickering. All accessible by bus. We also have bikes you can use.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for volunteers to stay over the winter months. We need somebody from September. You can be travelling independently or together. If you have experience with horses this is helpful. Your jobs will be feeding the horses, taking them to the fields, cleaning the stables, exercising the horses and training them if you can ride. This usually takes about 3/4 hours on a morning. You have time in the afternoon to relax and explore and also time off too. We can be flexible with this. In the evening the horses have to come in from the fields and he fed again.


    Working with animals is physical so do expect physical work but it will keep you for and will be rewarding if you love horses. It would be a great experience for somebody wanting to spend a winter in a beautiful place of the North York Moors and enjoy being around horses. It would be possible for somebody to stay a year and work over the summer with the weddings if desired.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a large mobile home which has 2 double bedrooms living room kitchen toilet and shower. You will have your own bedroom. We are getting an upgrade so it will be nice a toasty with a new heating system. Sometimes two friends share a double bed. We have a digital TVs and DVD player and it is heated. In the house you have your own bedroom. You have to be prepared to sometimes make your own meals but there will be plenty of food.

    Internet wifi is good in the house and we are getting this extended to the mobile home for the winter.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are some great places to visit and you can do this easily by local buses or our bikes. York is a stunning city as is Whitby by the coast. You can catch the train from Pickering to Whitby which is a fantastic experience.

    It is only a 5 minute walk to the nearest bus station or you can use our bikes. It is 20 minutes walk to the nearest town - Kirkbymoorside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (Max. 25 hours/week)

Towards the helpers kitchen
Static living room
One of the bedrooms in the static
Charlotte at a horse show with google
The yard arena
Helpers helping at a wedding
A helper out hacking
Charlotte with foxtrot, Doris and the two goats
The farm house in winter















Host ref number: 676668942666