Enjoy a relaxed cosy space and help at Reception OR make awesome murals at our family hostel in Tarapoto, Peru

Country

Peru

Favourited 117 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1101

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family owned hostel located 1km away from the city center of Tarapoto, in a non asphalt street so you may think that the area could be dodgy but honestly, there are many streets like that here and also Tarapoto is pretty safe, not like other bigger cities in Peru.


    We want to have a cozy place where travelers can enjoy their time feeling like at home. There are spacious areas available for the guests to share with others. We've already had some volunteers with us and the experience was amazing! Also, most of the artwork we have at the hostel was made by travelers. There are private bedrooms and shared dorms at the hostel.

    We have two available positions:
    1. Help at Reception
    2. Painting murals.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Other
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can meet a lot of people during your stay, and also know more about this region. You will see that there are a lot of murals all over the city so you could learn about the local art.

    The volunteer has the opportunity to improve Spanish, meet locals and explore the area.

  • Help

    Help

    --------------------------------------------------------------RECEPTION----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    We are looking for one person who would like to help us at the Reception desk, checking rooms, general day to day running of the hostel. The shifts could be in the morning or afternoon. We are flexible with the shifts, so they can change if you ask.

    As the work is at Reception, knowledge of Spanish is needed. We also prefer someone who can stay at least two weeks, most people stay longer than what they originally said they will.

    Some of the tasks will be:
    - Use the Booking system
    - Take phone calls
    - Talk to people from over the world
    - Give tourist information
    - Some housekeeping if needed.

    As a volunteer you receive free accommodation, which could be in a dorm or private room, it depends on the availability of the hostel at the moment. You can also use the kitchen, the TV room, laundry once a week and relax at the terrace.

    We like people who can interact with others, are good with clients and flexible. Also we ask people to take care of the things we give you here. We trust you and we hope that you can be considerate with what we provide.

    Also, if you teach yoga, you can have yoga lessons (Off the work exchange shift hours) and what you earn is for you.
    We want to work with someone who is trustworthy and wants to share a nice environment with the rest of the staff and with the guests.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------ART POSITION------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    In our hostel we have plenty space for murals and paintings. It's our dream to have a place full of art, mostly made by travelers.

    If you want to show your talent, this is the place!

    We are looking for artists who want to leave a mark here!
    For this position there is no minimum time of stay as you're free to work on your own path and you manage your working hours.

    But first, we want to see some of your work, so we can make sure that your art would be something we'd like to see on our walls. Send us your Facebook, Instagram, Portfolio ore some examples by e-mail. We'd love to see your art!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English, Portuguese, German, Swiss German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a bed in a Dorm or private room, depending on our availability. There is a kitchen here so you can cook your own food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers can enjoy the city and the surroundings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 675591936463