Help co-create artistic playground and farm renovation in Bourgogne, France

  • France
  • Favourited 116 times
  • Last activity: 15/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Do you dream about living in France? Live differently? We, my daughter (13) and me (50), are Dutch and live on a farm in France. We live in France since 2011 and by now i've learned a lot about renovating old farms (i did three). Before I moved to France, I worked as an innovation consultant. I've traveled a lot, but the more and more i felt the need to not go anywhere anymore. We have 19 hectares of land around the farm and several buildings. Our goal is to create a ´makers place´ in a rural area where everyone has his own space to work/ create but we share a barn atelier. The farm is located on a hill with beautiful views and next to a nature reservate. Right now I am urgently looking for a handy / technical person that likes to help renovate two old houses. I'll soon start to renovate the walls with lime and sand, happy to teach you this technique.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have 3 horses and work in freedom with them, i can teach you a new method to work with animals based on harmony and frendship rather than dominance.
    We can teach you French or Dutch.

    Share our knowledge what it is like to live on a farm in France, and what to look for if you plan to buy and renovate an old house.

    You can also use our barn if you like to work on your own project. If you want to look for a property to buy yourself i am happy to share my knowledge on renovation and do's and don'ts when buying a property in France.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    we are mostly looking for person with a technical background, a carpenter, inventor or builder. Someone who likes to create lowtech or diy things or land art or who like to build and renovate an old house. We would like to create a place where we can live more ad more off grid. It would be great if you an help us with this. Any experiment is welcome (windmill, solar panels, water filter for source water etc)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We love to learn new languages. We're happy to help you improving your French, Dutch, English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    small caravan (Adria) with beautiful scenery next to nature reservate. It can rain a lot, so please make sure you bring old and/or warm cloths and boots. In the winter the caravan is in a hangar for shelter. As we live on a hill, often there is wind. In summer that makes it cooler and less flies, but in winter it can be cold.

    i am not a good cook but you´re welcome to eat with us or i can provide all the ingredients if you like to do the cooking. i am vegetarian so no meat preferably.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Bourgogne is known for its nature, forests and beautiful skies. There is not much to do around here, but that is the beauty of it. It is completely still and quiet here. The best village nearby is Autun or Montceau les Mines. There is a TGV station at 30 minutes. We live very isolated the nearest shop is at 7 km, having your own transport/car is really an advantage if you want to do some sightseeing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good Internet but it is good to have your own connection as well just in case.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park your campervan on our terrain, we have 19 hectares and a view until the mont blanc

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    you can bring your dog or cat or other animal as long as you take care of it yourself and it behaves well.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 to 4 hours per day 5 days a week.

Host ref number: 193829482998

Feedback (8)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)