1 / 2

Join our family in Ballyclough, Co. Cork, Ireland

  • Favourited 32 times
  • Last activity: 7 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a friendly young family of 4, with 2 children (a girl, 2.5 years and a boy, 4 months). I am from New Zealand but was born in South Africa and lived in a Italy for a number of years (and speak Italian). My husband is from Ireland. We live in a rural area in North County Cork, about a 10 min drive from Mallow town and train station.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a multicultural family located in the “centre of Ireland” where you will easily be able to access and learn about many aspects of Irish culture and history.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for someone to primarily assist with household chores (including cleaning, washing, cooking) and childminding. There will also likely be some gardening and dog walking (we have 2 miniature schnauzers) with the potential to also assist with farm work if interested.

    Please note we are a strictly non-smoking household so cannot accept workawayers who smoke (including e-cigarettes / vaping), sorry.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation is in a bright, newly renovated downstairs spare bedroom in our detached dormer bungalow, with a queen bed, desk, wardrobe and window seat, as well as access to high speed fibre broadband. The family bedrooms are upstairs so you will have your own space. You will be welcome to share in our family meals. Separate downstairs bathroom with toilet, sink and shower (please note this is the only downstairs bathroom and as our living space - lounge, kitchen etc - are downstairs, family members will also share the use of the toilet in that bathroom during the day).

    We are located in a rural area with limited public transport. We would be happy to drop workawayers to the train station in Mallow (where trains are available to Cork, Dublin and beyond) or the bus stop at New Twopothouse (where a bus can be caught to various locations) during reasonable hours, subject to our own schedules. It is important for workawayers to be aware that we are not located close to nightlife and not within walking distance of a town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 674983197219

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Looking for a native Spanish speaker to help with my son near the village of Oldcastle, (1.5 hour from Dublin, Ireland)
Experience farm and village life, helping with my home and garden in Ennis, Ireland