updated  

Help on a solar run finca in Castellon, Spain

  • Favourited 561 times
  • Last activity: 17 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    =================
    Help needed on a solar run Spanish finca in the maestrat mountains Castellon region of Spain.. general help...
    =================
    End of April and may am looking for help pruning olive trees.. if you have carpentry and building skills would be helpful. IF NOT
    Hopefully you will have some kind of practical skill, whatever it might be.. Help in the Huerta with planting and weeding, clearing terraces...
    Picking almonds in September, October.... Olives in November, December...
    Looking for people with good energy,. Help with gardening cooking and cleaning. Strimming.
    Am looking for a couple preferably but hardworking singles very welcome..
    Am a artistic female. I live on a solar run, 5 hectares of land 550 meters above sea level, quiet and peaceful with fantastic views of the surrounding mountains, three kilometers from the village..
    Old stone house coming near to the end of its renovations. living here with my two fantastic dogs, six lovely cats, six chickens and a beautiful Appaloosa mare....
    Before arriving here the place had been abandoned for twenty five years or more, I've been busy first with help from friends and family, last few years with many great volunteers, building, painting, pruning olive trees, fig, carob, almond. Also a few fruit trees on the land.. making compost..
    Some days fixing my dry stone walls, a skill i can teach.. Clearing terraces of weeds and pine trees. Fixing up the house interior and some other small projects..
    Help cleaning communal areas.
    Unfortunately am not able accommodate volunteers with dogs, children, people with eating disorders or on mind altering medication..
    Able to speak fairly good English is also necessary..
    Mostly all things needing help with with I can teach..
    The help is varied so you can get a choice of jobs daily..
    If you can ride a horse or if you would like learn that also possible..

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Can teach dry stone walling, pruning of trees, how to plant vegetables, you want learn cook some international dishes, we speak pretty good spanish and fluent English..
    Have building and carpentry skills...
    Have knowledge of herbs plants and local wild life, also growing vegetables..

  • Help

    Help

    I would like help with some pruning, especially at the moment, helping in the huerta planting. Feeding the horse, clearing some bushes, I would like set up some new bee hives. There is all necessary equipment, so somebody with knowledge and bit of experience would be great, gardening, weeding, watering and tree planting.. Clearing cut grass and branches.. Some dry stone walling.. mixing cement.. laying a patio floor... Cleaning shared parts of house....
    Collecting figs to make wine and jams, olives to make oil, depending on harvest times...
    Am making a rock pool so if you have carpentry plumbing skills great...
    cutting and clearing branches, brambles, strimming, painting, seasonal months picking almonds, some small construction jobs.. planting trees and vegetables.. pruning abandoned olive trees..
    Am looking for honest, cheerful, positive people that HONESTLY LIKE to work, learn and have some fun...
    This is a farm and the work can get dirty..
    If you have a problem saying hello in the morning or smiling am sorry but please do not apply.
    Good communication here on the farm is necessary, attention to what needs be done, I don't like to have check up on people constantly..

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I have a huge Spanish vocabulary so can help if you want improve..

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very comfortable, clean, nicely decorated caravan shaded in summer, large double bed table and seating area.. sharing kitchen, porch, bathroom in house.
    You will be offered three meals per day, i cook a hot meal with glass of wine or beer in evenings. Lovely places hang a hammock and relax in the shade..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is an exceptionally beautiful part of Spain, second most mountainous area. Beautiful for walking and hiking..
    Mostly i live using rain water for showers and washing, its VERY important that helpers need be conscious of their WATER Usage!!
    There is enough water keep you clean and beautiful spring water to drink..
    We don't brush our teeth with the tap running for example.. Not much goes to waste here, almost all is recycled. Waste food to dogs cats or chickens or to the compost..
    There is an inside dry compost toilet..

    On your days off i can drop you in town, or sometimes at the beach.
    There is one road bike here. if your fit you can ride to local historical towns.
    There are plenty of good walking hiking paths in the area.. Summer large outdoor swimming pool in town..
    In the evenings after dinner i like relax so you will be expected entertain yourself.. there will be wifi..
    We are not vegan...
    There is no hunting on my land..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A normal size camper van, converted ambulance for example will Enter finca no problem.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 674792418318

Feedback (21)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)























Nature-lovers and handy people join us in our house near the coast of Galicia, Spain