Lots of learning opportunity with friendly people needing your help in Devon, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/02/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in a civil partnership so LGTB friendly. We have 2 adult children each and some grand children. Dee likes to practise her French.
    We live in a 4 hundred year old cottage. Keasts is a smallholding and we aim to produce all our own food. We are not veggie but are veggie friendly.
    Volunteers would have their own room and bathroom. Accommodation is good. . Keasts isn't really suitable for small children. Dog by agreement. Sorry, no smoking in the house.
    We are equidistant between Plymouth, Exeter and the north Devon coast. Directly opposite Dartmoor National Park so good for walking and on the Route 28 cycle path.
    We just want help from people willing to join in and share our lifestyle. We think volunteers would get bored if they spent more than 2 weeks here but we are very friendly and love to meet other people. This is Devon. You need boots!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have lots we can teach. We make cheeses and wine. We grow a lot of our own veggies. Dee does blacksmithing and forging. We know how to complete most tasks relating to self sufficiency. We aim to be self sufficient and can teach those skills.

  • Help

    Help

    Generally help with the garden and animals. I want to build a compost toilet, so help would be good. We want volunteers to be flexible in their approach to what needs doing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    An annexe within the main house. This includes two double bedrooms and sole use of a bathroom with electric shower. There is limited space for cars.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A good location for Dartmoor National park and the Route 28 cycle path. 45 minutes drive to Exeter and Plymouth and North Devon coast. 1 hour to the Eden Project. Difficult to travel without transport but there are buses.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 673797137251