Dog walking & household tasks in the countryside in Pirkanmaa, Finland

Country

Finland

updated  

Favourited 150 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    111

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: We are full for this year. Thank you for everyone who’s been interested!

    We are a couple (~40 years) living in a small village community in the countryside of Pirkanmaa, Finland. We have two dogs (Lapponian herder & Golden retriever), a very lovable cat and also chickens in the summer. We have a traditional kind two story house with about 5000 m2 of property.

    Our house is located in the countryside of southern Finland, surrounded by forests, lakes and fields. We try to live ecologically and we produce 90 % of our energy needs by solar powerplant in the summertime.

    There are two lakes nearby, with the closest one about 400 metres away with a possibility for swimming and fishing. We also have a rowing boat at your disposal in the other lake nearby. We have neighbouring houses nearby. It's about 15 minutes to the nearest small shopping centre by car, and about 30 minutes to the city of Tampere. There are daily bus connections to Tampere (~50 minutes to one direction) and you can lift a ride almost every morning from us. Tampere is the second biggest city in Finland, with its 240 000 people, after the capital region.

    The national parks of Seitseminen and Helvetinjärvi are located in a pretty short driving distance from us, as well as the Riuttaskorpi recreation forest (unfortunately no public transport to these). They all have lakes, places for campfires and marked hiking trails. There are also some horse riding stables nearby both for trail riding and taking riding lessons. In nearby forests it's possible to pick berries and mushrooms in the late summer and autumn. You can also borrow our bicycles: there are nice countryside cycling roads around.

    We like peaceful and quiet country living, animals and nature. Our hobbies include photography, hiking, board games, outdoors, animals, reading, gardening and travelling. Riitta also rides horses and goes at the gym.

    We are looking for 1-2 likeminded persons, who seek for living in the peaceful countryside. We hope you like animals and can take care of our pets. We hope you could take care of the tasks quite independently, as we can't be around during the day because of our work. Please also note that because of our tight schedule, be prepared to cook your food by yourself.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to see Finnish countryside and be surrounded by nature. We always try our best to take you as a part of our everyday life here. We have hiking & camping gear which you may borrow. We are able to offer lifts for you.

  • Help

    Help

    Your main job would be to walk our two dogs while we are at work. The younger dog is only one year old and has got a lot of energy. He's pretty big, active and sometimes very wild, but kind and loving people. We hope that you are able to walk also on all kinds of Finnish autumn weather and manage with a big, young and active dog, who still for example sometimes jumps on people. Our other dog is already a senior, so it might be that you need to walk these dogs separately. Especially with the young dog, we expect a minimum of one hour walk daily, preferably longer if possible or more walks.

    Other possible tasks available are:

    - taking care of the lawn (we also have a robotic lawnmover, so it's not a weekly task)
    - washing and brushing dogs if necessary
    - playing and doing some activities with the young dog
    - taking care of the chickens
    - cooking & baking occasionally if you like it
    - vacuum cleaning & mopping the floors
    - papering a wall & removing old wallpaper
    - road maintenance work
    - renewing our balcony floor (needs some carpentry skills)
    - renewing the cabin floor partly (new plastic mat)
    - weeding of the perennial flower bed

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Finnish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have about 20 m2 two story, simple cottage in our yard, which is completely at your disposal. At the cottage, you will find:

    - tv and sofa
    - Internet
    - stereos
    - running warm water
    - fridge, microwave oven and water kettle
    - basic kitchen equipment (no stove or oven)
    - electricity
    - cooling and heating with air conditioning
    - bed linens and towels
    - toilet
    - yard games such as badminton etc.

    You also have 24/7 access to sauna, showers, kitchen and washing machine in our house. Sauna can be heated at will and we also have an outdoor hot tub. You can either sleep on the matresses on the cabin upstairs floor or on the open sofa.

    If you arrive alone, the whole cabin is for you- we don’t take two strangers at the same time period.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mentioned above :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Country scenery along our road.
The cabin for you
Our cat & Lapponian herder
Our youngest Lapponian herder Ruska.
At the lake
Our terrace
Blueberry time in forest.
Our cat chilling in the sun.
Scenery nearby.
Rowing during the sunset.
Roses from our yard.
Our leader. 10 years old. Very skillful hunter. Likes people very much.
Nearest lake and our swimming place.
Our house
Our golden retriever. 13,5 years old. Ultra nice and introvert.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 673546937558