Live off-grid and learn a variety of new skills helping on an organic farm in the Conondale Valley, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/05/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    215

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, Rosalba and Mark, run a certified organic farm in the beautiful Conondale Valley, Sunshine Coast Hinterland. We are 20 minutes from Maleny by car. We live in a straw bale house (which we built ourselves), which is completely off grid. Our main produce is eggs but we are slowly making inroads into growing vegetables. we adhere to permaculture principles. We also have 6 cashmere goats and 2 donkeys (guardians). We also have 2 pet pigs that we have saved. We are vegetarian but we can cater for vegans.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can experience what it is like to live off-grid. Learn about eco building and feel the comfort of living in a well insulated straw bale house. They can learn about companion planting and organic farming and experience a more compassionate way of living. Can also teach them to knit, sew, and weld.

  • Help

    Help

    I am needing help with setting up raised beds for the vegetables and Mark is looking for help with farm maintenance

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak Italian and my husband speaks German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bedroom with ensuite in straw bale house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are surrounded by National parks, so there are plenty of walking trails. Maleny is only 20 minutes away and is a hub for local artists and top notch restaurants. You can cool off at Gardiner falls or go to Caloundra beach 45 mins away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have the highest NBN plan possible so internet is quite good. We have wifi and every room has an internet port.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There are plenty of spaces to park a camper van or caravan. No undercover spaces available though.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week


Host ref number: 671647934717