We live in the beautiful country of the Eastern Townships of Quebec. Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 139 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in the beautiful country of the Eastern Townships of Quebec. Our farm is very diversified as we produce beef, lamb, as well as porc. We have been doing our own product launching and marketing since the beginning and we have our own butcher shop right next to the farm. No hormones nor antibiotics are used with the animals, and no herbicides or pesticides are used in the fields. Summer is a very busy season for us with all the work in the fields as well as with the animals.

    The main jobs that the travellers can help with are very diversified as well. Those jobs include things like: taking care of the animals morning and night, maintenance of the fields, gardening, cooking, cleaning, maintenance of the buildings, constructions, hauling wood, hay, occasionally helping at the butcher shop etc. There are also 4 young children on the farm, so helping with babysitting can also be a possibility for those who enjoy it!

    We have a very large garden as well as a big greenhouse in which we produce vegetables, a few fruits and fine herbs for our own consumption. At the end of the summer when it is time to harvest, we transform and "can" many products that we consume all year long. We also have a few berry plants, and this year we have 2 beehives to facilitate the pollination of our crops and garden.

    At our farm, we have a few musiciens that love sharing their passion. It is equally possible (and a pleasure!) to help you discover our beautiful region and the activities it offers.

    At the beginning of spring, it's maple sugar time that begins! We have a sugar house and approximately 600 trees used each year. We use the old methods for collecting the maple water (buckets and wood fire) which gives a better tasting maple syrup for you to discover! At the same time, we have all the spring cleaning that needs to be done (house, garage, warehouse, etc.). We start also start planning the garden and the greenhouse. In April & May, we prepare and plant in the greenhouse, and in June it's the garden! Afterwards, it's hay season that begins and lasts all the way to approximately the month of September! During the summer, we also do different tasks in the greenhouse and garden (removing weeds, harvesting vegetables, etc.).

    There is no time to be bored at our farm, for there is lots of work to be done! We our presently 3 people that live in the farm house, and approximately 4-5 people close by.


    It is very hard for farmers to travel, and that is why we decided to sign up on these hosting sites. We appreciate exchanging with people from all around the world, and discovering new cultures and traditions at the same time as we share our own.

    We look forward to meeting you!



    -----


    Nous habitons dans la belle campagne de l'Estrie, dans un endroit tranquille à 30 mn de Sherbrooke. Notre ferme est trés diversifiée, nous produisons de l'agneau, du porc et du boeuf. Nous effectuons notre propre mise en marché et avons notre boucherie sur la ferme. Notre production est sans hormone de croissance et sans antibiotique de prévention. L'été est une période trés occupée avec les travaux dans les champs et avec les animaux.

    Les principales tâches dans lesquelles les voyageurs peuvent nous aider sont diversifiées. Cela comprend l'entretien des animaux matin et soir ainsi que les divers travaux qu'une ferme peut offrir selon la saison et le temps: entretien des champs, ramassage du bois, récolte de l'eau d'érable, entretien du jardin & de la serre, les foins, petits travaux d`entretien de la maison, aide à la boucherie occasionnellement... une aide pour les tâches ménagères est également la bienvenue! Il y a également 3 jeunes enfants sur la ferme, donc une aide pour le gardiennage des enfants est également bienvenue pour ceux qui sont à l'aise et qui le souhaitent!

    Nous avons un grand jardin avec lequel nous produisons les légumes dont nous avons besoin pour notre alimentation quotidienne. À la fin de l'été, lors de la période de récolte, nous transformons plusieurs produits que nous mangeons tout au cours de l'année. Nous avons aussi une production de petits fruits pour nos besoins personnels et un verger. Récemment, nous avons installé deux ruches pour faciliter la polinisation de nos cultures et du jardin.

    Sur notre ferme, il y a des musiciens qui adorent partager leur musique. Il sera possible de vous faire découvrir notre belle région et ses activités.

    Au printemps, il y a les sucres qui commencent; nous avons 600 entailles environ (à la chaudière). Au travers de cela, on prévoit réparer la machinerie et faire du grand ménage (maison, garage, entrepot. etc...).On commence à penser au jardin (achat des semences, plan du jardin etc...). En avril & en mai, nous prévoyons préparer et commencer à semer dans la serre. En juin, nous sèmerons dans le jardin. Ensuite, c'est le temps des foins qui débute et qui dure jusqu'au mois de septembre! Durant l'été, nous avons l'entretien de la serre & du jardin, les récoltes de différents légumes, etc.

    Ce n'est pas le travail qui manque: mais c'est trés enrichissant à plusieurs personnes. Nous sommes présentement 3 personnes dans la maison et 4-5 autres personnes qui gravitent autour.

    Comme nous avons une ferme c'est plus difficile de voyager pour nous, c'est pourquoi nous apréçions d'échanger avec le monde entier chez nous. En plus on peut goûter et échanger nos recettes traditionelles.

    On vous attend avec plaisir!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Notre ferme est communautaire, donc vous serez en mesure de rencontrer plusieurs personnes avec un bagage bien différent, qui auront toutes sortes de choses à vous faire découvrir. Les travaux sont très diversifiés, considérant que nous avons notre propre jardin, serre, boucherie, cabane à sucre et plusieurs élevages d'animaux différents! Il y a tant à découvrir sur l'agriculture. Quelques musiciens demeurent sur place également, donc c'est possible de découvrir la musique traditionnelle du Québec, tout en appréciant les belles choses que la vie en campagne peut vous offrir!

    Our farm is a community farm, so you will be able to meet many different people who have much to offer. The work is very diversified since we have our own garden, green house, butcher shop, sugar house as well as many different animals! There is much to be learnt about farming. A few musicians live here as well, so it's possible to discover our traditional music, while enjoying everything a country life has to offer!

  • Help

    Help

    \Travellers usually help out from Mondays to Fridays and have weekends off! Obviously, other arrangements can be taken. We want people who visit us to be happy and enjoy their time here. No slave labour ;-)

    See above description. Voir description plus haut.

    Les voyageurs aident généralement du lundi au vendredi, et ont les fins de semaine de congé. Évidemment, d'autres arrangements peuvent être pris! Nous voulons que les gens qui visitent chez nous soient heureux et apprécient leur temps dans la région. Ce n'est pas de l'esclavage! ;-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Mainly french but a few speak english as well

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Tous les voyageurs habitent dans la même maison que nous, et ont leur chambre afin d'avoir leur petit coin d'intimité. Les repas sont en commun, et tout le monde met la main à la pâte pour la préparation des repas!

    The travelers are housed with us and everyone has their own room for privacy. Meals are in common, and everyone helps out for the preparation!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two





Host ref number: 644563931684