Spend time with a Spanish family in Malaga City, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 96 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/02/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We reply within one day!
    Hola! We are a Buddhist, Spanish family living in a beautiful part of Spain.

    We have three children (10, 9 and 7 years old) They are very active, creative and a lot of fun. Currently they speak a little English however we would like them to learn more in a natural playful way, so we are looking for volunteers who speak English as there first language (or Speak English fluently) and speak to the children in English. We would like the volunteer to become part of the family, helping with the cleaning, cooking and taking the kids to school and attend the family and friend gatherings. We would like the volunteer to stay for at least ONE month (we prefer longer) so you can fully integrate yourself as part of the family and feel relaxed here with us.
    You can also learn and practice your Spanish here with the parents and locals, our previous volunteer learnt Spanish very quickly this way.

    Our house is situated in the beautful countryside, over looking olive trees and mountains. Next door is a Kadampa Meditation center, where a very welcoming Buddhist community live, many volunteers from around the world go there to work. If you like you can attend meditation classes there and spend time in its beautiful grounds. A 20 minute cycle ride away is a tradditional Spanish town, Alhaurin del Grande, where you can find anything you need (cafes, shops, library -even Spanish lessons!) A local bus can take you into Malaga city where you can find museums, gallerys and other cultural offerings.

    We are a very wecolming, open minded family, who love to have fun and enjoy a beautiful, peaceful life.

    If you would like to meet us, we can organise a Skype meeting.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are at Spanish family so we can offer Spanish culture, food, music and traditions. You will get to know our family and friends, so you can be fully integrated into our Spanish life here.
    As we are also Buddhists and live next to a Kadampa Buddhist center, this is also a great opportunity to learn about Buddhist teachings, meditation and traditions.
    We love to travel, for many years we explored Europe and Morroco with our van, we want our children to learn about other cultures so this is a wonderful opportunity for them to meet new people from around the world.

  • Help

    Help

    - We need help with the kids, helping them with homework, taking them to the bus stop, practicing English at the same time that you learn Spanish.
    - We need some help at home with cooking and cleaning.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room and private bathroom

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can cycle or run into the local town Alhaurin del Grande, Go to the Kadampa center next door or spend time relaxing at home.
    On weekends you can take buses from Malaga to Granada, Ronda, Cordoba, Seville etc and join us on our family parties and excursions.
    We like to live a healthy, active lifestyle and would love to host a volunteer that wants to be apart of it!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our pevious volunteer with the kids!!
Our family, friends and previous workawayer going to the Carnival

Host ref number: 671597791786