Help us out at our ecological theatre farm in Limousin, France

Country

France

updated   Last minute

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 54 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there! I am a young Belgian guy (25y) who bought two old barns on a land of 2 hectares in Limousin, France. I am a theatre maker and it has always been my dream to live a self sufficient life in harmony with nature. Our farm in France, where I live as much as possible is going to be as selfsuficient and organic/permaculture as possible together with my sister’s family living at the other side of the street. Besides that we're re-establishing the biggest farm into a theatre. The realization of that project has been going very hard because of COVID, I'm around most of the time.

    Come and help us at the start of this dream! I own the land now almost three years and the building process has really gun up tempo and also the fruit and vegetable garden is popping from the design phase into reality. We are looking for people with the same dream or experience with permaculture or constructing. But everybody is more than welcome to join us in our journey and story!
    2022 is all about finishing the most important construction phase of the theatre so the artist in residences can fully start in 2023. Besides short stays I’m looking for people who really wanna live at my place for longer periods. Looking for a home/workspace for 1 up to 4 months? You can definitely contact me.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We could learn together. If you are interested in a simpler life, closer to nature but you don’t have a lot of experience yet and you wanna taste how a story like that starts. La Lande is the place to be. Me and my girlfriend are starting with this dream. So we’re facing a lot of problems/opportunities to learn and would love to share those and solve those problems with you. Also if you already have experience, very welcome to come and help us.
    It's the combi: garden + building, here. Lovers of both are welcome but there is A LOT to be done, so if you're just interested in one of the two: No problem!

  • Help

    Help

    The coming months our objectives are:
    - repointing ancient walls
    - creating a shower/toilet space
    - renovating a little roof
    - finishing the floor tiles of the income hall
    - maintaining the forest
    - preparing the soil of veggie garden
    - cutting grass with cool machine on 2ha 😎

    Every couple of months I will change this objectives! These ones up here are up to date for first months of 2022.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to learn Scandinavian languages!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In winter, you will have your own room I built in one of the barns. It is a lovely wooden space with a little stove, single bed +sheets, piano, wardrobe, everything.

    In summer, you will sleep, such as us, in the tent, enjoying the beautiful garden. I have two tents for two persons and sleeping bags and bedding as well.

    I’m 2019 we built the outdoor kitchen and sanitaires as eco as possible. Taking a shower or a bath, with a view in the forest. Using the compost toilet. Cooking in a very luxurious outdoor kitchen. Working outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Haute-Vienne is a very very quiet region in France. We are surrounded by a romantic valley, you can go down to the river, enjoy plenty of deers wandering around. There are plenty of lakes to swim in a 10 min drive. We have bikes to enjoy a day off and of course our lovely dogs to play and stroll with!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    In your private chamber here in one of he barns, you can work on your own online projects. There is a stable 4G connection and my phone is used as WiFi router. With a cable that is really a strong connection. I watch full HD Netflix and disney plus here. Uploading however is a bit difficult (read: upload = SLOW, download = OK).

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have place for several Campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have a lovely dog, Merel, she would be pleased to welcome some new friends here.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 669721563242