Help us creating an off-grid life in Puerto Ibañez, Patagonia, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    we are a couple of chileans who came to live in patagonia a year ago, we are still in the process of settling in the place, we live off-grid so we have been learning a lot about this lifestyle. We love the outdoor, we live with our dogs and a lovely cat.

    The last year we have developed a lot of knowledge we would be happy to share if you are interested in different topics like solar systems, Internet connection in rural areas, gr and we would really love to hear any idea or experience you may have that could be useful here.

    Our property is next to the river with stunning views of the surrounding mountains, we are 15kms away from the from the nearest town, Puerto Ibañez, this place is known to have a very gentle weather compared with the rest of Patagonia

    There are very nice spots for climbing in the surrounding.



    We grow some of our vegetables and we are in the process of building a greenhouse.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Two years ago we where living in the capital very far from this lifestyle, It wasn't planned to settle down in Patagonia but the pandemia tooks us here, so its been a really interesting journey for us to learn the local culture and how to adapt to this different lifestyle

    We have made deep connections with locals that have allowed us to be part of their culture from within and have allowed us to understand how things have changed for them and how the culture shock with the modern world has been.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have many thinks that you can help us with,
    Help planting and harvesting food.
    Gardening.
    Repairing some old fenses.
    Finishing a greenhouse before the winter.
    Building a little barn for our horse.
    We need to build a chicken coop.
    Collect firewood for stoves
    Clean the river bank.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a nice guest house with one room and four beds (2beds and 1 bunk bed) with a a bathroom outside, hot shower, and wood stove. You might be sharing room with others volunteers, you can also camp around if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's not public transport to the property from the town, there are lot of awesome places to visit arround.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a stable connection that rely on a system of multiple cell phone antennas that we installed ourselves. not so often all the town gets offline due to cable cut and so us. But as I work online, connection is a priority.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can receive campervans, let us know if it is a big one to check if it fits the gates.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week


Host ref number: 669551369265