Come help differents types of works (garden, agroforestry, permaculture) at my organic farm in Boulouparis, New Caledonia

Country

New Caledonia

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    My name is Eric. After travelled the world thanks to my job, I moved to New Caledonia 20 years ago.
    In my proprety near the river in the middle of the low mountains, I built an ecologic farm.
    My entire production is certified organic; ducks, pigs, bees, fruit trees, chicken and a permaculture garden.


    I aspire to become one day self-sufficient. I am already autonomous energetically since the water comes from the river and from a local spring (drinkable water) and we got solar panels.
    I am producing my own meat like charcuterie, sausages, pâtés, rotis, brochettes from the ducks, the pigs and the deers.
    We have wild deers around so I am used to go hunting.


    I want to share my passion for animals, nature, plants and produce fairly (to protect earth).

    I used to meet different people through my old job and I want continue to exchange and meet people. It's really interesting and rewarding.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about organic farming and permaculture. They can also benefit from an excellent living environnement during their stay.
    It's the perfect place for meditation, relaxation, calm and return to the basics.
    You could discover local faun and flore.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone who can help me to fence construction, watering the orchard and the garden; orchard and garden maintenance; and to continue to develop the permaculture garden.

    All skills are welcome and I accept ideas of DIY even if I am a good handyman !
    New ideas are welcome to enhance the daily lives of every visitor.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Warning :
    You can access the property only via a track and with a 4x4 (four by four). It is located 15 km away from the main road and 20 km away from the first village Boulouparis.
    Travellers can access to the city (Nouméa) by the bus.

    In the chalet :
    1 individual bedroom (2 persons), cupboard,


    1 separate outdoor shower with hot water
    1 separate outdoor toilet

    To share :
    1 kitchen
    1 living room with TV
    1 terrace

    No wi-fi
    Volunteer will not share the room. One room for one volunteer!

    During their time off on the property they can go biking, walking, hunting, fishing ....
    During their time off on Noumea, travellers can do whatever they want.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At this moment the realization of a babecue spot is in progress.
    It will allow to meet, to dialogue, to play music and why not savor a Caledonian deer steak.
    We also have to rehabilitate plot fences and ford crossings.
    We are in the hot period and the beginnings of afternoon are dedicated to a nap at the edge of the river to rest and refresh.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    No, because we have a limited wifi.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-6 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 668219775116