Help our family with some garden projects in an ecological and biodiverse way in Svanesund, Sweden

  • Favourited 18 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 who just moved in an old farmhouse, yet in good shape. We are about to renovate the house, rebuilt the garden to be productive, ecological and biodiverse. We would like to have some animals moving in with us as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we are a German family living in Sweden now for more than 6 years, travellers will see cultural aspects of both countries and cultures. The house we are living in is more than 100 years old and a classical example of farmer houses from this time. Further, we are living on Orust which is a particularly beautiful island at the Swedish west coast with a great nature beauty including the coast line, fishing villages, agricultural areas, forests and wetlands, yet close to Gothenburg, the second largest city of Sweden.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like travellers to work with us in the garden, create new zones, built fences, take care of the vegetable garden, maybe process the harvest. If suitable, we like travellers also to help renovating the house and summerhouse, e.g. removing paint, painting and paper hanging the walls, fixing the floor etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Our oldest daughter (9 years) is very keen on learning a new language.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Travellers will live in the summerhouse next to the main building. The summerhouse can be used all year. It has a fully equipped kitchen, washing machine, small bathroom with a shower and 4 beds (2 double beds).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Svanesund is 1 of few connecting points between the island and the main land. It is thus possible to get around with public transportation. Beaches and spots of natural beauty are close by and can be reached by bicykle.
    We are a family trying to live close with nature. We anticipate to become (partly) self-sustaining with fruit and vegetables. We also try to reduce our negative impact on the earth through utilising public transportation and through minimising waste. We would like others to follow/join and are keen on getting ideas and impulses by the travellers who might have similar ideas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 666998425197

Feedback

Help me on my small farm in Hammerdal, Sweden
Welcome to share our life in the beautiful countryside of south Sweden