Help with our garden (mostly) in Nelson, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Liz and Kindra (women in their early 70's) live on the shores of the Haven estuary very near Nelson city in New Zealand. We welcome guests to enjoy our peaceful garden, with cycleway and parks nearby. We overlook the Kahurangi and Abel Tasman National Parks - about an hour way for walking, climbing, kayaking, swimming and enjoying the relaxed Nelson life. Nelson is an arty city with a famous Saturday Market - the local fare of fruit and vege, wine, bread, olive oils, cheeses, among a wide range of jewelry, potions and all manner of craft.
    We warmly welcome those travelling or who just wanted a space to enjoy all the pleasures of Nelson, or people on the Te Araroa Trail.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a home full of beautiful books on a wide range of subjects. We have both been teachers in mostly adult contexts now, and have both travelled. We still work mostly part-time - counselling and training, and community-led development. We are always interested to meet people from other parts of the world.

  • Help


    Be willing to help in the garden: planting, weeding, pruning, composting. Enjoy making meals together and sharing knowledge of each others lives and culinary pleasures. General maintenance around a quite large suburban garden - including a small hive of bees.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    A single bed in the conservatory, which is sunny most days, which has an awesome outlook over the Haven and across to the Tasman Sea and the mountains. All bed linen and duvet with plenty of blankets as needed are supplied. A shared bathroom with shower and bath is nearby. We will supply dinner food, and can accommodate personal needs and ideally share the cooking. Free access to Wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nelson is abundant with places and adventures to enjoy. The local bus is available every hour from the end of the drive - 15mins. 7 mins drive to city centre, for cinema, museum, galleries, cafes, library, and all else a smart city offers. Nelson is easy city in many ways and has every manner of tourist event, places and journeys to enjoy across the region. The shared pathway/cycleway at the end of the drive leads to town via a local shopping centre, fish and chip takeaway and hairdressser - 10 min walk.
    We are both still working part time and can easily work in with a Workaway schedule. Happy to share car transport to places on discussion.
    Preference for no longer than 1 week stay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Medium to large space available with easy power access too.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 666295621446

Feedback (4)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Experience a New Zealand way of living in Otago
Help us in our large garden, with family and other small maintenance projects in Hawke's Bay, New Zealand