Help with a garden on the edge of an ancient forest near Glengarriff in glorious West Cork, Ireland




Favourited 162 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I'm originally American, now Irish. I built my home and run a business that shows Irish contemporary art. I appreciate the help you might bring and treat volunteers well -- I've hosted Workaway volunteers for four years, and volunteers from other sites for 9 years and have 5-star ratings from everyone who has stayed with me.

    I grow a kitchen garden with greenhouse, and a naturalistic garden surrounding the the house overlooking the forest below. I need help maintaining and improving the garden and some household improvements. There's always weeding to do but I try to vary daily tasks. Extra points if you know how to work a strimmer or chain saw!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This part of rural Ireland is exceptionally beautiful and unspoiled with a different pace of life. It's unusual to find old forest in Ireland. Walking in the woods, or hiking in the surrounding mountains, you will see plants that grow nowhere else, and evidence of human occupation that goes back hundreds of years. You can visit some of the nearby prehistoric sites, of which there are several, perhaps see the largest fishing port on Ireland's west coast, learn about the Ireland's colonial history with England, see Irish contemporary art, learn to grow at least some of your own food, and generally have a good time.

  • Help


    I'd like 1-2 people, either a mature single or a couple, who can come for 7 to 14 days only, to help for 20-25 hours per week. Because of the somewhat remote location of my home, and the fact that I cannot supervise helpers all the time, I have found that the most successful arrangement is for helpers to come as a couple or friends so that they have company. Single helpers are very welcome, but only if they are mature enough to work on their own and enjoy time to themselves. I also prefer helpers who have had some experience with gardening. If your English is not fluent, then you must have some gardening experience!

    I need help cleaning up the garden, weeding, trimming, planting and transplanting, preparing paths, cleaning the shed, perhaps some exterior and interior painting. I need help one--two weeks at a time only.

    The work schedule is often weather dependent, and no matter the season, you can expect rain, at least some of the time--it's Ireland after all!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation


    Helpers will enjoy their own very private large room (2 twin beds) with WC and shower and a beautiful view of the valley. I'm a good cook and will feed you well and accommodate most dietary needs (sorry, not vegan). There is access to Wifi, and a good library of books, CDs and DVDs. This is a strictly non-smoking house (indoor and outdoor) with a small, friendly dog in residence.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The forest bordering my home is a national park, with miles of off-road walking trails just outside the door, including the Beara Way walking trail. Glengarriff village is 1.5 miles away with a small grocery store and post office, several good, friendly pubs, and public bus access to nearby Bantry all year. In Glengarriff harbour, Garnish Island offers a romantic, 100-year-old garden of exotic plants via a short ferry ride. During the summer months, bikes can be rented in the village. In Bantry, you can visit the Earl of Bantry's great house and enjoy a lively outdoor market on Friday mornings. There's public bus service (No. 236) from Cork City to Glengarriff.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 665744831472

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more