Join us in setting up an off-grid permaculture holding in Wales, UK

  • United Kingdom
  • Favourited 520 times
  • Last activity: 26 Mar 2023




  • Description


    We are Brendan and Ludka and with our 3 children. We are in the process of finishing our off grid straw bale house build to passive standards while establishing our permaculture holding.

    Our smallholding is granted permission under the One Planet Development , Welsh government planning initiative.
    We are happy to share our experiences of living off grid, to show how we are managing our power and waste.
    We have a number of ongoing land management tasks that we need help with.
    Last winter we have planted an extension to our woodland, built an agroforestry area and planted an orchard. We are looking for people who are interested in helping to maintain these areas.
    We are also trying to finish various building jobs so carpentry skills and interests are very welcome.
    Building a tree house is on the list as well!

    We are also looking for people to help with the upkeep of our land and learn about beekeeping, permaculture and all aspects of running an off grid sustainable smallholding

    The location is quite remote and picturesque on the edge of the famous Preseli Hills. Our grounds are a mixture of gardens, fields and woodland. There is also a pond, a vegetable garden with greenhouse, and a small apiary with around 7 beehives. We grow as much of our own produce as we can, but could do with some help with this and the upkeep of the land, pond and gardens.

    The Pembrokeshire Coast National Park is within a short drive and is a haven for those who seek a bit of peace and love nature and the great outdoors. There are many beautiful walks around and we have a big family of red kites living on the top of the hill. Our woodlands are home to at least 30 different species of birds and many small creatures such as mice, rabbits and voles. In the spring the woodland is covered in wild garlic and bluebells and this is one of the most beautiful times of the year to visit. We are centrally located to beaches in south and north Pembrokeshire.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Preseli hills offer lots of opportunity for walking and the Pembrokeshire coast is less than half an hour from here. This is a welsh speaking area so guests will hear welsh being spoken in the nearby villages. There are many local cultural events (more in summer) but primarily we hope we will attract people who enjoy peace and quiet and the countryside. We are happy to teach visitors about beekeeping, vegetable and fruit growing and garden maintenance.
    You can find out all about off grid living in rural Wales.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for help in February with preparations of our veg beds. We are also planning to start erecting our second poly tunnel.
    We have a number of building tasks that we need to finish, so we need help with carpentry, plumbing.
    Also we have a number of ongoing land management projects.
    We need help with gardening, vegetable growing, fire wood processing and pond maintenance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We provide accommodation in a caravan that we have lived in for the last two years while we were building the house.
    We also welcome volunteers with their own vans, trailers or tents as our facilities on site are limited. There is a cabin on the site with a kitchen area and woodburner available for volunteers to use most of the time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are quite remote, there isn't much public transport here, so if you don't have a car you will not be able to go far from here but obviously if we are going to go anywhere we will offer you a lift. We are quite, relaxed people all we ask is that you clean up after yourself and keep the place reasonably tidy. We have three young children so it will help if you enjoy children's company.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days

Host ref number: 665652999653

Feedback (14)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help us explore permaculture practices in our backyard in Surrey, UK
Dog-sitting and spend time with my horses in the Glens of Antrim, Northern Ireland, UK