Learn about organic gardening at my home in a beautiful location, Newry, Northern Ireland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 864 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everyone !

    My name is Patrick. I live in a wonderful place surrounded by mountains in Northern Ireland.
    In the past few years, we have created a peaceful garden :

    - Polytunnels and outside beds to plant some delicious vegetables, fruits & herbs.
    - Different gardens where I sowed flowers to feed honeybees and other insects.
    - A total of 3000 native trees planted (probably even more, I lost the count).
    - Fields for my lovely goats.
    - A deluxe house for my 10 hens, to keep them warm and happy.
    I have also two adorable dogs : Tashi & Dolma.

    As you probably understood, I’m a nature lover, full of ideas and skills but I have only 2 hands ;) .
    There is plenty to do, no matter the seasons. I have a lot of projects in the garden, so I like someone who is really interested to learn and help me outside. The tasks are variable depending on the projects.

    I like sharing and teaching people what I learnt through the years: how to care about the garden & nature, carpenter skills, martial art, training, meditation & even more.

    So, if that interests you… don’t hesitate to contact me. I would be happy to welcome you here !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will help alongside me most of the time, so they will learn about different methodologies:

    - polytunnel, permaculture, wildflower meadows, composting, chickens free range, biodynamic, crop rotation & natural horsemanship.

    And Practices:

    - beekeeping, berries, biodiversity / wildlife improvement, bread making, cheese-making, fermentation of foods, forest gardening, gardens flowers, gardens vegetable, herbs, medicinal herbs, orchards, scything, seed saving, self-sufficiency & wood-working

  • Help

    Help

    Daily tasks may involve planting, weeding, woodland, maintenance general, fence and boundary maintenance, cooking, firewood splitting & gathering, livestock, harvesting, gardening tasks, general gardens.

    Current projects:
    Depends on time of year.
    Please contact me to know the current projects as it is changing all the time.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bed and bedroom in my home
    Most meals are eaten with the host family.
    Vegetarian & organic food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lovely area to visit

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)

















Host ref number: 665347784836