1 / 5

Nature-loving carpenter, join us at our farm in the beautiful Svarfaðardalur valley, north Iceland

  • Favourited 198 times
  • Last activity: 18 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Greetings! We are three families regenerating a farm with the aim of achieving food sovereignty in Iceland. We were motivated to leave our city life behind and focus on regeneration of the Earth and aiming for promoting sustainability on our community. So here we are, three years later, making our dreams a reality in our farm paradise in the beautiful Svarfaðardalur valley in the North of Iceland. We have beautiful mountains surrounding our farm which are perfect for hiking. We also have a river border which is a calming asset when working out in the field. At the moment, we are only 2 of the 3 families living in the farm, and we are all eager to have you for the time being! *Important note: We have a vegetable-growing business going on, but workawayers won't be helping with any tasks relating to the business.*

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are multicultural families with anthroposofical values, which we apply to our lifestyle and environment. We have experience with Waldorf education, Biodynamic farming and holistic medicine approach.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for travelers with DIY experience, since the home projects developing currently are building and fixing old infrastructure.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will provide a private room with a single bed and window. The room is conveniently located close to the bathroom, kitchen and living room. Food dynamic will work differently for each meal: Breakfast items will be served at the table for everyone to help themselves. Warm lunch will be prepared by some member of the house and warm dinner as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With the experience we have had so far hosting volunteers, it has always been a clear and straightforward dynamic with very little space for misunderstandings. Our volunteers enjoy of the perks of enjoying horseback riding, going to the local hot pools, or visiting art exhibitions in the local Culture House or art spaces in the region. We have a car available for local transport which we borrow to volunteers with driver's license and experience driving manual car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Pretty comfortable space for any size of camper van or motorhome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 665253487328

Photos

Feedback

Help a family with kids in Bolungarvik, Iceland
Join our family, help with house and our 3 kids in the countryside near Selfoss, Iceland.