Organic truffles and medicinal plant garden near Patara, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Natural, organic, truffle mushroom and lavander garden interested on many other medicinal and aromatic plants. We are a family having twins kids. The garden is located 14km away from market and main road, this brings peacefull, silent farm location. We can easily say that the population density is about one person per one hectar land ;). The elevation of garden is about 1050m from mean sea level. By that way it is almost plateau seeing Patara beach from 40km. Our garden has lodging facility for limited amount. Then it is better to talk and arange before your visit. We can also arange transportation. Volunteers can wander around the mountain slopes by bicycle or on foot in their spare time, the ancient city of Tlos, trout farms and Saklikent are some places to visit other then the hidden natural places.
    Our daily routine works start early with the release of chickens, feeding all animals and taking care of their fields, especially in the spring and summer periods, we have our breakfast after watering or checking the garden around the house. We fill our hours with works such as weed control, construction or maintenance works, works that may be required according to the needs of trees and other plants, searching for truffles in the garden or training dogs for truffles, in order of importance at that time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm is a truffle farm that is being established and complies with organic farming rules for eco-agro tourism. In order to evaluate the development period of truffle trees, we are trying to grow various medicinal aromatic plants such as lavender, sage, immortelle as intermediate agriculture. Our family that makes these consists of 2 adults and 2 young children. Therefore, it is possible to do work in many fields (such as DIY construction, repair works, garden works, plant care works, animal care works). Our 4 years of experience is so much that we supply experience to inexperienced people in the field, but it is so less that we gain experience from experienced people. We believe that this will result in an intense exchange of information.
    4 years ago, our family left their white-collar job in the big city and took a step towards establishing a truffle and lavender garden in the countryside towards organic, non-toxic farming. While we are a family that is eager to share what we know in every field, we are a family that does not hesitate to do research and development for this purpose, to learn what we do not know.
    Our farm is progressing in line with the purpose it was founded, but there are some issues that we have difficulty with, these are:
    - organic weed control,
    - organic control against pests,
    - raising the vegetables grown in the garden more beautiful and nutritious,
    - practical execution of construction work, etc.
    We think there is a lot to learn from our visitors in these areas.

  • Help

    Help

    We are still on the establishing phase but on the other hand we are also living on the garden since 2 years. But because of establishment phase we may need some DIY construction help in addition to standard gardening or cat, dog, chicken care.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    As I am graduated from linguistics, I am very interested in languages. I will be happy to teach my language while learning yours.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our family and all our valunteers or workers stay in prefabricated steel rooms like tiny houses.
    And travellers will eat what our family eats. Of course if they need special foods we will supply them if it is possible. We will not provide alcohol drinks, but they may bring.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As it is mentioned before mountain biking and walking around is possible. Tilos ancient city and Saklikent valley is close to us. With the help of domestic transportation, ot is possiple to see many Lycian ancient city around as, in 60 km radious there are 6-7 ancient cities and also many touristic places like Fethiye Oludeniz. You can fly from Babadag to Oludeniz with parachute etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a limitless wifi internet connection via satellite dish antenna. Since our location is also above the village settlement area, we can only make 90 percent uninterrupted mobile phone calls. The ratio depends on the GSM service provider, the best is Turkcell. I am also working online, then our workawayers can work online in their spare time, whether in their rooms or in public areas.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We currently have space to put vehicles such as caravans. It is possible for us to supply electricity and potable water to these vehicles, but the sewage drain is not ready at this stage. Existing wastewater drains will need to be used for wastewater. We have space to park at least 3 caravans at the same time.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have 4 dogs and 3 cats and 20 chickens on the farm. The chickens roam free in the area reserved for them. Our cats roam free in all areas. Each of our dogs has their own private kennel. We open and release them one by one during the day. Our door is open to pets that will not have problems in this system.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 664692688171